Mediterranean Summer Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
We loved this. It was light and flavorful. What a great way to serve tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattiearnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Yes, yes, yes. This recipe is simple yet divine. I made it for a party and I seriously had my guests begging for more. Freshly picked tomatoes are the only way to go, which is what I think made this such a knock-out dish. Layer french bread, tomato slice and a fresh basil leaf on top. Happiness. Update: made this again--and had 3 people ask for the recipe! My version--I doubled the recipe: for 10 tomatoes I only used 4 shallots, added about a 1/2 to 1 TBSP brown sugar and salt to taste. Also I sprinkled about a tsp of salt-free pizza seasoning in the mixture. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany
Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Pretty easy to inspire and experiment with - I love easy sides like this that are healthy and pretty on a plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKBISHIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
My 15 year old son LOVED this. I thought it was awesome. Be careful not to put too much dressing on the tomatoes...it can be a bit overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika T. Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Delicious! I used more vinegar than oil, blended in a small herb food processor with fresh basil, omitted the shallot (daughter hates onions) and sprinkled it all with a bit of feta cheese and chives to finish it off. Looked as yummy as it tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
A sprinkle of crumbled feta cheese is nice on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peculiarmike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Peculiar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This recipe needs two key ingredients FRESH BASIL and Fresh buffalo mozzarella small pieces If you add these two you have a classic italian salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
OMGosH! I love tomatoes! I love onions! I love balsamic vinegar and olive oil! This is now my favorite way to eat tomatoes. I'm off to make a loaf of French Bread now. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This is delicious, and one of my summertime favorites! Since I'm watching my weight I alter this recipe a bit by adding layers thinly sliced mozzarella cheese for protein, then top with sliced black olives and fresh basil, finely minced. I also cut back quite a bit on the olive oil, or omit it entirely, and used multigrain or whole wheat bread. This makes it a meal instead of a side dish. Oh, and I don't refrigerate the tomatoes - ever - it changes both the taste and the consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
What a fantastic way to highlight a fresh tomato! This is a simple dish that lets a tomato taste like a tomato should taste, thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States