Mediterranean Stuffed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This is a great base recipe. I put the feta and cream cheese in a food processor and added fresh spinach, roasted red peppers, garlic, and basil to make a filling with which to stuff the chicken. To the pan, I added about 3 T of extra virgin olive oil and 3 T of lemon juice. I wilted some fresh spinach, added some feta and mixed it with a lemon rice and it was great. My dinner party guests raved over it and couldn't get enough of the "lemon sauce" for the chicken. If you are experienced with roux, you could thicken the lemon-chicken stock after cooking and that would be great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMCKELLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
I made this for a dinner party. I used toothpicks instead of kitchen string. I also dipped the chicken in melted butter and then rolled in a 2:1 ratio of seasoned bread crumbs and parm cheese. Came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
We loved this recipe! I placed chicken between pieces of waxed paper and pounded it thin then added the cheese mixture (as listed in recipe). The only change I made was, after brushing the rolled chicken with melted butter, to sprinkle each piece with a mixture of bread crumbs and parmesian cheese. The little bit of cheese that oozed out during cooking time was excellent spooned on top of the chicken. I served this alongside gnocchi with browned sage butter sauce. Too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I thought this was excellent. The only thing I did differently was cut a pocket into the chicken, and used fresh garlic instead of powder. I also omitted the butter completly and drizzled lemon juice over the whole thing. Really good, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
YUM-MY!!!! We all loved this dish! To the stuffing I added about 1 Tablespoon of Pesto-instead of the dill and 1-2 teaspoons fresh garlic instead of the garlic powder a few shakes of red pepper flakes into the mix. I seasoned the chicken really well (I did what a lot of people have done and just made a "pocket" for the stuffing.) I put sliced mushrooms on top of the chicken, 1/2 lemon juiced over everything, poured some extra virgin olive oil over the top seasoned and popped in the oven for about 40 minutes. This was AWESOME over Linguini I poured the sauce that was in the bottom of my chicken dish over the pasta-PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This was SO good. I have found a new favorite fancy dish. I did alter it a little, based on the other reviews. I added some finely diced red onion, some chopped kalamata olives, and a pinch of crushed red pepper. I added more cheese too, to create a sauce type effect to put over orzo pasta that I seasoned with garlic and pepper and lemon. Thanks for a great recipe - Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Galloway, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This chicken is very Good! I added minced garlic and a little fresh squeezed lemon juice to the stuffing mix. I topped the breast pieces with lemon pepper instead of just plain salt and pepper. I was short on time so I just sliced the breasts open down the side to make a pocket and closed it with toothpicks. I increased the baking time to ~40 minutes to factor in the thicker pieces of chicken. We will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
WOW! this chicken was a hit... of course i had to add something as everyone does :) raspberry sauce to pour over top & decoration: 1/4 c seedless rasp jam, 2 tbs oj, 2 tbs white balsamic vinegar... bring to boil in sauce pan, reduce 3-4 minutes. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
What a wonderful recipe! I followed the recipe pretty close but did add some finely chopped calamata olives to the mix. After I basted the chicken with the butter I dusted the top with coarsely crushed salad croutons. As this was going to a large group, I cut each breast on a bias into 5 pieces and plated on a bed of lettuce. Looked great and tasted even better! I'm getting into this cooking thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I love this recipe. I make it at all the time served over lightly salted jasmine rice. I always use real minced garlic instead of garlic powder just because I love garlic. I even had some of the cheese spill over onto sweet white corn and it was awesome. Just for easy clean up, line a dish with foil before baking. Then just toss the foil when you're done. If there were more than 5 stars I'd give this recipe more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States