Mediterranean Seafood Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I am continually frustrated by people who provide a rating for a recipe but yet state that they "changed some of the ingredients". They are not providing a review for the listed recipe, but instead one of their own. I did try the Mediterranean Seafood Salad and prepared it exactly as specified. It is excellent and doesn't need to be changed in any way. It is very tasty and I'll be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I would actually give this one about 3.5 stars but am rounding up due to the rating scale. The recipe was better than store bought salads and was on par with decent restaurant food. There was WAAAAYYYY too much mayo used in the recipe. Next time I would cut the mayo down to about 1 cup, maybe even 3/4 of a cup. There also wasn't enough pasta to balance out the abundant amount of mayo. If you are going to keep the mayonaisse the same I would add another 1/2 to 3/4 cup of dried pasta. If you bring the mayo down I would still add about another 1/4 cup of pasta. The taste was good for an imitation crab salad. The Worcestershire and hot sauce give it a nice tang. If you want more spice I would hold up on the hot sauce and add more dijon or Worcestershire instead, they will give it a kick with a stronger flavor. If you just want that burning on your tounge sensation go with the hot sauce or add a couple teaspoons of minced raw onion. With a few changes I believe this recipe could be a solid 4 (perhaps higher).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This was pretty good. I did make some adjustments for my family. Instead of Catelina dressing I used Ranch. I also added 1/2 cup sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
excellent wouldn't change a thing. I cant believe people give a low rating after they have not followed the recipe. Those people should keep their comments to themselves or send their own recipes in. Jt's rude
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Very good. I used Greek Vinagrette for the dressing instead. Gotta love feta cheese and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twinsfan0309
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I actually made this with Ranch like a previously mentioned comment and it was NASTY. I'm pregnant and the smell was horrendous and lingered in my kitchen and fridge for days. It might have just been me... but you've been warned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I've made this lots of times....one of my fav. things to make! I slice my olives & add Miracle Whip instead of Mayonnaise...i've never added the Dijon mustard b/c I don't have it around but it didn't taste like anything was missing. I always use the crab meat. VERY GOOD RECIPE, Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlzfish2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Very good! I added Thousand Island dressing instead of Catalina. I didn't use dijon mustard, I used yellow. I didn't add the olives or the cheese. It's pretty basic, but I think that my kids and my guests are going to enjoy this with a lettuce salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaznoah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Really good salad! Reading other reviews I imagine trading in the Catalina dressing for Ranch is not recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Made as written before making any changes and I didn't like at all. After changes this is a 3+ star recipe, but still not outstanding. First of all, I thought the textural contrast between the rest of the salad and the cubes of cheddar was a little weird. The flavor wasn't bad, but if I were to make again I'd use shredded cheddar. Way too much mayo, would cut in half next time. I ended up adding 2 tsp Sriracha, 1 tsp Sambal Oelek, 1 tsp black pepper, an additioanal tsp worcestershire sauce, 1/2 tsp garlic salt, and 1/2 tsp parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States