Mediterranean Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
The flavour of this was good, but it was mushy and soggy. There must be an error in this recipe. it calls for 3/4 cup of quinoa and 4 CUPS of veggie broth. From what I've read quinoa need a 1:2 ratio (quinoa to liquid) I tried doubling the quinoa. It made a HUGE batch, way more than a family of 4 could eat. I imagine if you reduce the liquid to 1 1/2 cups it might be good. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I decreased the liquid to 1.5 cups and used beef broth (I had to use it up) and I think that gave it a good flavor. I also used red, yellow and orange peppers, so it was a pretty red-colored dish with the potatoes and green beans I served it with. The quinoa gives a great source of complete protein!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
The peppers are a nice flavor. I have been wanting to try quinoa so this was a good introduction with an easy recipe that could be altered to suit. I followed the recipe and it wasn't mushy, but I have never eaten quinoa before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This was a great recipe but you do need to reduce the amount of liquid. I also added crumbled feta at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Tarzana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Soooo good and even better the next day for lunch. Even my roommate liked it and he's super picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Yum! This was so tasty. I didn't have many peppers so I added some endame (soy beans) and carrots and it turned out great! I cooked it longer than I needed to and it didn't spoil...it was creamy and nutty and very filling. I'll be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This recipe taste good but it was to watery. I followed the exact recipe but I expected it to come out like rice where the liquid is absorbed into the quinoa. I'll try less stock next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
This recipe is very simple, and I found using fresh basil a nice touch. To avoid a mushy quinoa, you definitely need to cut the stock down to 2 cups, but it also helps if you prep the quinoa like this: rinse it and and drain it, and then put it in a pan and dry toast until a few grains begin to pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This is an awsome dish! I took suggestions from the other reviewers- I reduced the cooking liquid and added some feta cheese. Also, I used canned tomatoes and used the liquid from the can as cooking liquid. A family member suggested it might make a good filling for stuffed peppers. I'll definately meke this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby sparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Boylston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This was delicious! I used 1 cup quinoa and 2 cups of homemade turkey broth to make it less soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States