Mediterranean Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. I used about 2 cups of water instead of broth, and instead of the tomato paste and fresh tomatoes, substituted a 22-oz. can of chopped stewed tomatoes, not drained. The tomato flavor tied everything together and made it taste surprisingly, but not overly, sweet. My first experience cooking with quinoa will not by my last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Definitely halve the water. I also added a little fresh ginger to make the dish pop. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenw

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This was tasty. I used less water as recommended by other reviewers. Also, I didn't have fresh tomatoes so I used a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes and used the juice in place of some of the water. I only had red pepper but I added some chopped fresh spinach after about 10 or 15 minutes of cooking which helped make it colorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
My favorite way to prepare quinoa - it tastes like vegetarian spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Good recipe. I took people's advice and used only 2 cups of water. It worked out well. I also added cherry tomatoes at the end instead of regular tomatoes. I also added a chili pepper for spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SFAITHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I whole heartedly agree with the other reviewers regarding the soupiness. This would have 4 stars had I cut down the broth-quinoa ratio. Definately omit 2 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I read suggestions an altered a little. I sauteed the veggies in olive oil, used 1 cup quinoa and 2 cups water - perfect!! I also threw some cheddar cheese and turkey ham in. My 9-month old daughter LOVED it and kept wanting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This would get 5 stars from me if the liquid was adjusted to 2 cups so it wasn't so soggy. Still, we ate it all and my teen son even went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
First time trying Quinoa & I loved it, definitely make this a weekly meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: South Haven, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This was delicious! I used 1 cup quinoa and 2 cups of homemade turkey broth to make it less soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States