Mediterranean Puff Pastry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This meal was FABULOUS! I made some small changes-- mostly to portion- I took one good sized boneless breast, cut in in half and then only used one pastry puff sheet cut in half. It came out beautiful looking *wish I took a picture for everyone* and tasted like heaven. The herb feta was perfect and the sun-dried tomatoes really added nice flavor. Whoever invented this meal- I want to raid your recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teacherkhh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This ia a wonderful recipe, however, I would like to point out that puff pastry and filo are not the same and although either will work, the taste and appearance is different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This was excellent. Even the kids liked it. I did not marinade it in the egg yolk, didn't have the time, and I am not sure why you would even need too. The chicken was very tender, cooking time was right on. After reading the reviews I chose to cut the puff pastry in half. I then rolled it out with a rolling pin since someone else said it was hard to get the pastry around the chicken. After I rolled it, the pastry fit very well around the chicken and I sealed up the edges with some warm water to make it stick. All the flavors work well together. I will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
My boyfriend goes to school out of town and ever since I made him this recipe he insists I bake it for him each time I visit! I've even prepared it a few different ways that have gotten rave reviews as well (just to keep it interesting!) Instead of leaving the chicken breasts in halves I've dice it so it's easier to eat when served. I also use cheddar/mozerella cheese blend instead of the feta simply based on preference. (I think any cheese would work!) Adding bacon and/or mushrooms is also an easy way to change it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I just want to start out saying that I am not a cook/chef/ have no cooking skills at all! I wanted to do something special for my girlfriend and I figured that cooking her dinner would show her how much I care for her. Dude, this recipe kicks tail! She raved about my cooking. Seriously it was easy to make, tasted great, and scored me some great points with my lady. Thanks for the easy to make, great tasting chicken dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Wow, I made this for dinner tonight and it came out perfect It's true as others said, you only need half the pastry the recipe calls for ... and I chose not to soak the chicken in garlic and egg (which really didn't matter) instead I mashed some crushed garlic into the Feta cheese, pounded the chicken breast flat covered the chicken with the cheese and then rolled it together and placed it on top of the spinach, then topped it with the basil pesto and dried tomatoes - the chicken came out tender and it was absolutely delicious! My husband just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This dinner had my hubby raving! He's telling everyone that will listen about this recipe. He NEVER does this. Like others I wish I could give this more stars. To make sure the breasts cooked completely through I pounded them smaller. I did use a whole sheet of pastry and that truthfully made the dish even better to me. Never having used puff pastry before, my first one broke completely apart on the seams (felt like a big dummy), but my second one I ran a rolling pin over the seams until they meshed completely and the result was simply gorgeous. Thank you and thank you again for a wonderful recipe that will be used time and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I only wish I could give this recipe more stars! It is so flavorful and the chicken is moist and delicious. I followed the suggestions of others and used 1/2 of a puff pastry sheet for each chicken breast. I also cut up the chicken breasts first before marinating--this worked really well, made the pastry easy to fold and allowed the chicken to have more flavor from the ingredients. I too want to raid this cook's recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole H.
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This was sooo good! And super easy to make. I don't like pesto, so I used sun dried tomatoes that come in the oil and chopped those up. The oil that was retained on the tomatoes made up for me not using pesto. I made one breast with half a sheet and one with a whole sheet. It was hard to get the half a sheet around everything, but it turned out better than the one with the whole sheet. There was too much pastry to chicken. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This was great. I used pre-cooked roasted chicken strips since that's what I had on hand, and used tomato basil feta omitting the sun dried tomatoes. I also used only one pastry sheet as other reviewers suggested. This would good with virtually any filling, but I loved the feta and spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melinda
Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States