Mediterranean Puff Pastry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This meal was FABULOUS! I made some small changes-- mostly to portion- I took one good sized boneless breast, cut in in half and then only used one pastry puff sheet cut in half. It came out beautiful looking *wish I took a picture for everyone* and tasted like heaven. The herb feta was perfect and the sun-dried tomatoes really added nice flavor. Whoever invented this meal- I want to raid your recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teacherkhh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Absolutely delicious! I cut the puff pastry in half as well. Came out tasty and gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole H.
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This was sooo good! And super easy to make. I don't like pesto, so I used sun dried tomatoes that come in the oil and chopped those up. The oil that was retained on the tomatoes made up for me not using pesto. I made one breast with half a sheet and one with a whole sheet. It was hard to get the half a sheet around everything, but it turned out better than the one with the whole sheet. There was too much pastry to chicken. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This chicken dish had very good flavor. I used Classico's sundried tomato pesto & it tasted great. I would highly recommend taking out ONE sheet of phyllo dough at a time. It dries out very quickly. Also, use a cooking spray (like Pam) to lightly coat the sheet of phyllo dough. It keeps it more pliable & sticks together without tearing. It is a lot less fattening than using butter (which by the way, is not in the recipe either, which confuses me - you have to use something to seal the dough with, it tears too easily and doesn't stick on its own).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This ia a wonderful recipe, however, I would like to point out that puff pastry and filo are not the same and although either will work, the taste and appearance is different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This was excellent. Even the kids liked it. I did not marinade it in the egg yolk, didn't have the time, and I am not sure why you would even need too. The chicken was very tender, cooking time was right on. After reading the reviews I chose to cut the puff pastry in half. I then rolled it out with a rolling pin since someone else said it was hard to get the pastry around the chicken. After I rolled it, the pastry fit very well around the chicken and I sealed up the edges with some warm water to make it stick. All the flavors work well together. I will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I only wish I could give this recipe more stars! It is so flavorful and the chicken is moist and delicious. I followed the suggestions of others and used 1/2 of a puff pastry sheet for each chicken breast. I also cut up the chicken breasts first before marinating--this worked really well, made the pastry easy to fold and allowed the chicken to have more flavor from the ingredients. I too want to raid this cook's recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Very tasty and highly recommended. For two people, I used only one sheet of puff pastry -- rolled it out. Instead of using store-bought pesto, I used a homemade version. I pounded the chicken breast to tenderize it. I also seasoned the chicken with seasoned salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Loved this recipe and so did my husband. It was a little annoying trying to wrap the pastry around the ingredients. It looked like a giant ravioli before baking it in the oven. Well worth the difficulty of stuffing all of the ingredients inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Yummie!! This was great! I followed the recipe to a T, except I did use one pastry puff and cut it in half. And it was great! Came out perfect and I am new at cooking. Very easy too. Will definitely make again!! For guests next time. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States