Mediterranean Puff Pastry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
For this recipe I used half a sheet per half a chicken breast and it ended up looking really nice. I did not marinate in the egg because I did not have time. Instead I just brushed the chicken with the egg, and mixed the garlic with the tomatoes. I then brushed the pastry with the egg so that it would be golden. I made this for Valentine's Day, so I drew a heart in the top of the pastry with a knife (making sure not to poke it through all the way). It turned out really cute, and it tasted great! My fiance gave it 5 stars and my father in law got the leftovers and raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was soooo good! I just made it for a Valentine's Dinner and it was a hit! I made 4 big portions (1/2 sheet of pastry used for each portion) and cut them in half for 8 smaller portions (it's actually not that bad nutrition-wise since this is probably the portion you should eat anyways). I marinated the chicken for about 5 hours and used regular feta because the store closest to me didn't have herb feta. I also cut the chicken in bite size pieces. Other than that, I followed the instructions provided and was very satisfied with the results! Paired with a nice salad, side, and glass of wine and you have an amazing dinner! I will be making this again... probably this week some time! Mmmmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This was fantastic. I felt like we were eating at a restaurant. I would next time pre-cook the chicken a little to eliminate so much juice and soggy puff pastry. I didn't have sun-dried tomatoes or basil pesto, but I did use sun-dried tomato pesto with basil in it. It was delicious everyone loved it and I most certainly will make again. Oh, I almost forgot. I pounded the chicken a bit. I liked to make sure my meat is cooked thoroughly. Who wants to go through all that hard work to wind up with under cooked chicken. I don't :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by Natasha Kay
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
For how pro this looks and tastes, there is very little prep involved. I didn't marinade but put on crushed garlic clove on top of each chicken breast instead. Will try the marinade next time. FIVE STARS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I swear this is the BEST chicken recipe ever! I was really surprised and the only change I made was to leave out the spinach (as I do not care for it). The Pepperidge Farm pastry is the best one to use and make sure to allow the chicken to marinade over night...it really does make a difference. Just try this one and you will be hooked! Will be making again and again...A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaLynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Great recipe, easy to prepare. I did not marinate the chicken, started too late, but didn't feel like it was missed. Felt like I was eating at a restaurant, but at my own table! Added more pesto and sun-dried tomatoes than the recipe stated. One of my all-time favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Absolutely amazing! I remember while in college I made something like this very similar in a resturant I worked at. We used fillo. So I did that instead of the puff pastry. My husband loved it and my kids ate it which is amazing in it self that they cleared a plate. Definitely a meal to wow dinner guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth T.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
We followed the recipe to a T and it was easy and incredibly tasty! Good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This dish was a hit! I had friends over for dinner and they loved it! I made this recipe with a few adjustments that were necessary simply due to time and what was available to me. I didn't marinate the chicken, so I minced some garlic and threw it in with the spinach. I used frozen spinach because I already had it. My small grocery store didn't have herbed feta, which worked out because it carried sun dried tomatoes in an herbed olive oil, so I went with that combination. I also used half a sheet of the puff pastry to make it go further, and beat out my chicken breasts in order to fold them over. I put egg wash on the rim of the pastry where the two sides would join and had no problems with leaking. Next time around I think I will throw the tomatoes in a food processor to get them a little smaller, or maybe even turn them into a paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States