Mediterranean Puff Pastry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was SOOO good! I followed the recipe except for the yolk part (forgot about it) and I cut the raw chicken into 1-inch pieces as suggested by other reviewers. The flavors are strong and delicious! My pastries looked like burritos after I wrapped them (about a foot long). Brushed with egg whites before baking to get a nice golden shine. 36 minutes was perfect! Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This recipe was quite tasty!! I used the whole egg instead of just the yolk, kept the egg mixture and coated the pastry before putting it in the oven (egg wash to make it golden brown). This recipe went perfect with a raspberry pastry desert, I didn't have to waste the other sheet of puff pastry. The oven was still hot to cook desert. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Not as good as I was hoping. Guess it just wasn't my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
My family loved this. We normally don't eat things like this for dinner but it was great. I used chicken tenders instead of large breast pieces. It cooked quicker and easier to cut. Next time I will use more of the filling for more taste. I have thought about making this dish in a casserole dish instead of individual puffs. I have an 11 and 7 year old boys and they both liked it. Gave it 4 stars because I would have liked more spinach and pesto inside the pastry. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Well my mistake was buying phyllo pastry as I could not find puff pastry. I worked but I am sure the puff would be way better. Second,the company was late so it was a bit overcooked. The flavours were lovely. Next time I will use the puff pastry and increase the feta a bit. I too, just eyeballed the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
The flavors in this were amazing. Couldn't find sun dried tomatoes so I used sun dried tomato pesto and omitted the regular pesto. This actually was a good move as some of my kids wouldn't have liked the chunks of tomato and it was very flavorful. I used chicken tenderloins so they cooked pretty fast. It would be nice to find a better way to wrap them, I sealed quite a bit and they still opened and leaked so the bottoms were soggy. I also think you could use crescent dough to make this but I'm sure it wouldn't be as good (but it would be cheaper!). I also think we prefer lots of smaller ones as opposed to several big ones. Thanks for an amazing recipe! PS Tried it with shrimp and prefer the chicken. Also, cooked on a rack over a pan so it was much less soggy - just remember to grease the rack! Can also make this with bread dough - I used leftover chicken so it was already cooked. Remember to put ingredients in upside down since it will have to be flipped over so seam is on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
WONDERFUL and EASY. I forgot to marinade the chicken but I can't imagine it making a huge difference to the taste. I did not follow the recipe as far as measurements, I simply eyed the ingredients as I added them. I will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I really liked the flavours, potent but good. You have to really like mediterranean flavours to enjoy this. I followed recipe exactly, but I did change one thing. The first 2 pastries I made exactly how they said. And then after discussing with my bf we decided that smaller portions would be better, due to the strong flavours. I then used up the rest of the ingred. and made mini app size portions....super that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon O'K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Leelo
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
We loved this! I am not a feta fan, but it was great! Making it again for sure! update: Made this with goat cheese instead of feta. We loved it even better than the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leelo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States