Mediterranean Puff Pastry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I am in love with every ingredient in this recipe, so I guess it is no surprise that I liked this recipe. I could not find herbed feta, so I used plain and threw in some italian seasoning. Next time I would probably dice or at least flatten my chicken so it is easier to eat. Also I made the mistake of using store bought pesto; always use home made pesto, it is so much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Pockets of deliciousness! The flavors of this were just wonderful together. As my husband was eating it and oooohing and aaaaahing, he asked me when I would make it again. I used one sheet of pastry rolled out a little, then cut in half. I had one humongous chicken breast, so cut it into bite-sized pieces and split it between the two halves of pastry. Didn't marinate the chicken, though. Otherwise, everything else the same as the recipe calls for. Chicken was cooked perfectly, and this is something we really enjoyed. Thanks for another keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Update/Edit: I have made this recipe several times, each time tweaking the process for ease and what I have on hand. The easiest way I have found to get this on the table quickly and without fuss, is to cut up my chicken boobs (I've used boneless thighs to great effect too), and simply toss the meat with the pesto, chopped sun dried tomatoes, and minced garlic, and totally skip the egg marinade step all together. I use both sheets of pastry in the package, each cut in half (to make 4 servings total). I lay out a sheet, put on 1/4 of the spinach, then add 1/4 of the chicken mixture, sprinkle on some feta, then close up the pocket and seal/brush with eggwash. Repeat 3 more times, and bake at the same time and temp as the recipe states. Perfect and less fussy than the original recipe. I always serve it with a combination of frozen prince edward medley (green beans, wax beans, and carrots) and frozen fire roasted veggies in a balsamic butter sauce. Both of those I get at Aldi when they are a special buy. stock up! slice up a baguette for eating with the rest of the pesto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Loved this, and it was so elegant! I thought the egg-garlic marinade was a big strange, so I didn't do that part. I used only 1 chicken breast (not sure how two would've fit with only 1 puff pastry sheet cut in half?). I cut the chicken breast in half and pounded it a little thinner (or the puff pastry would have burned by the time the chicken was done). I thought the recipe lacked the basic salt & pepper, so I sprinkled the breasts on both sides (was so glad I did!). I put 1/2 tsp. crushed garlic on each breast before topping with the other ingredients. Note that reduced fat pesto and feta cheese work fine in this recipe! I brushed my puff pastry with a beaten egg to make it glossy, and baked it for 35 minutes. Fantastic! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Believe the hype, this is 5 stars! I used 4 thin sliced chicken breasts and 2 puff pastry sheets cut vertically. I pressed the sheets out a little bit to make it easier to seal. I sealed them into a square shape and pressed the edged with a fork. This made 4 square pockets. I used plain feta and it tasted great without any added italian spices. I did marinate the chicken, but I used 1 TBS of chopped garlic...and felt that was plenty! I put 1 heaping teaspoon of basil pesto on each piece of chicken. It was done at 35 mins, but felt I could have taken it out a little sooner. Check the internal temperature at about 30 mins. The moistness was awesome...so I think it was worth marinating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Sun-dried tomatoes overpowered the other flavors, could be because I used some in oil instead of actually dry. Also my puff pastry sheets were too small when I cut it so I had to roll them out some. And when I cooked them, there was a lot of liquid in the pan so the bottoms were kinda soggy/slimy. Next time I double the feta, halve the SDT and put the whole thing on a rack to keep it out of the liquid. And may use full sheets instead of half sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
These puffs were really flavorful. I followed the recipe almost exactly, except that I made smaller, hand-size puffs, and wound up dicing the chicken before hand. I used frozen (thawed..really) spinach, but make sure that you squeeze as much liquid out as possible otherwise it makes the bottom of the puffs a bit ooey-gooey. Also, next time I would salt and pepper the chicken because it was a little bland if you got a bite of it by itself. I also sauteed some onions and added them to the pile. Super yummy! I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShaunaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and it was wonderful. The chicken was incredibly tender! The only trouble I had was with the puff pastry but I suspect it was my inexperience with the pastry rather than the recipe. Next time I might add more spinach and some garlic before baking and do a little less pesto, just to adjust to my family's taste. Not our new favorite but I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeaJenemone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
WOW!!!! Very easy and looks like it took all day. used chicken cutlets cut in pieces to make wrapping easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Shared this recipe with colleagues as it was so delicious and easy. Perfect for guests, just serve with a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States