Mediterranean Puff Pastry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I am in love with every ingredient in this recipe, so I guess it is no surprise that I liked this recipe. I could not find herbed feta, so I used plain and threw in some italian seasoning. Next time I would probably dice or at least flatten my chicken so it is easier to eat. Also I made the mistake of using store bought pesto; always use home made pesto, it is so much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Pockets of deliciousness! The flavors of this were just wonderful together. As my husband was eating it and oooohing and aaaaahing, he asked me when I would make it again. I used one sheet of pastry rolled out a little, then cut in half. I had one humongous chicken breast, so cut it into bite-sized pieces and split it between the two halves of pastry. Didn't marinate the chicken, though. Otherwise, everything else the same as the recipe calls for. Chicken was cooked perfectly, and this is something we really enjoyed. Thanks for another keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Wow! Make this now! I had the idea of combining chicken, spinach, and feta cheese somehow, so I did a search by ingredients, and found this gem! I made some minor adjustments- I happened to have a jar of sundried tomato pesto in my pantry, so I skipped the tomatoes and just used the pesto. I also herbed my own feta by combining a bunch of dried herbs (herbs de provence, parsley, chives, oregano), olive oil, and salt & pepper into a tub of plain feta crumbes. I also took the advice that 2 chicken breasts made for 2 HUGE servings, so I diced up my 2 boobs and quartered the puff pastry sheet to make 4 servings. Having never worked with puff pastry before, I didn't realize how thin and large you could roll it, but this stuff is amazing! I brushed on an egg wash for color and crisp. I didn't change bake time or temp, and they came out perfectly! Served it with a bag of frozen veggies in a balsamic butter sauce, and dinner rolls with the leftover pesto. My husband and I though we'd died and gone to heaven!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Loved this, and it was so elegant! I thought the egg-garlic marinade was a big strange, so I didn't do that part. I used only 1 chicken breast (not sure how two would've fit with only 1 puff pastry sheet cut in half?). I cut the chicken breast in half and pounded it a little thinner (or the puff pastry would have burned by the time the chicken was done). I thought the recipe lacked the basic salt & pepper, so I sprinkled the breasts on both sides (was so glad I did!). I put 1/2 tsp. crushed garlic on each breast before topping with the other ingredients. Note that reduced fat pesto and feta cheese work fine in this recipe! I brushed my puff pastry with a beaten egg to make it glossy, and baked it for 35 minutes. Fantastic! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Believe the hype, this is 5 stars! I used 4 thin sliced chicken breasts and 2 puff pastry sheets cut vertically. I pressed the sheets out a little bit to make it easier to seal. I sealed them into a square shape and pressed the edged with a fork. This made 4 square pockets. I used plain feta and it tasted great without any added italian spices. I did marinate the chicken, but I used 1 TBS of chopped garlic...and felt that was plenty! I put 1 heaping teaspoon of basil pesto on each piece of chicken. It was done at 35 mins, but felt I could have taken it out a little sooner. Check the internal temperature at about 30 mins. The moistness was awesome...so I think it was worth marinating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Sun-dried tomatoes overpowered the other flavors, could be because I used some in oil instead of actually dry. Also my puff pastry sheets were too small when I cut it so I had to roll them out some. And when I cooked them, there was a lot of liquid in the pan so the bottoms were kinda soggy/slimy. Next time I double the feta, halve the SDT and put the whole thing on a rack to keep it out of the liquid. And may use full sheets instead of half sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
These puffs were really flavorful. I followed the recipe almost exactly, except that I made smaller, hand-size puffs, and wound up dicing the chicken before hand. I used frozen (thawed..really) spinach, but make sure that you squeeze as much liquid out as possible otherwise it makes the bottom of the puffs a bit ooey-gooey. Also, next time I would salt and pepper the chicken because it was a little bland if you got a bite of it by itself. I also sauteed some onions and added them to the pile. Super yummy! I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShaunaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and it was wonderful. The chicken was incredibly tender! The only trouble I had was with the puff pastry but I suspect it was my inexperience with the pastry rather than the recipe. Next time I might add more spinach and some garlic before baking and do a little less pesto, just to adjust to my family's taste. Not our new favorite but I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeaJenemone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
WOW!!!! Very easy and looks like it took all day. used chicken cutlets cut in pieces to make wrapping easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Shared this recipe with colleagues as it was so delicious and easy. Perfect for guests, just serve with a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States