Mediterranean Puff Pastry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Oh wow, this has got to be one of the best recipes I've made from this site. I cubed chicken thighs, and marinated only for an hour. Used homemade pesto and homemade sundried tomato paste. The flavors went together so well! Used all the garlic called for in the marinade, and discarded part of it along with the excess egg. My roommate raved about it and said that it tasted like something you would pay good money for in a restaurant. I think that cubing and then marinating with the garlic gave the chicken a very good flavor. Added a pinch of salt and some chili flakes to the marinade. Used milk to seal the edges, and then pressed down with a fork for a nice pattern. Not the healthiest of meals, but oh so good.... Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This recipe stands a solid 5 stars as-is. However, I have tried this recipe a number of times with some alterations. I tried filo once, different cheeses and one time I forgot the egg mixture. Here are my thoughts: don't bother with the egg and garlic dredge, it's extra work and not necessary--use mozzarella or, even better I have a shredded mozzarella/provolone mix--skip the feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOULEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
My family LOVED this recipe! It is so easy to make and looks fantastic to serve. I make my own puff pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Yummy, I didn't marinate overnight. I cut the chichen into small pieces and just made a big calzone like thing. My husband loved it too. I thought there would be too much garlic but at the end it was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
THE BEST!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I am in love with every ingredient in this recipe, so I guess it is no surprise that I liked this recipe. I could not find herbed feta, so I used plain and threw in some italian seasoning. Next time I would probably dice or at least flatten my chicken so it is easier to eat. Also I made the mistake of using store bought pesto; always use home made pesto, it is so much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Pockets of deliciousness! The flavors of this were just wonderful together. As my husband was eating it and oooohing and aaaaahing, he asked me when I would make it again. I used one sheet of pastry rolled out a little, then cut in half. I had one humongous chicken breast, so cut it into bite-sized pieces and split it between the two halves of pastry. Didn't marinate the chicken, though. Otherwise, everything else the same as the recipe calls for. Chicken was cooked perfectly, and this is something we really enjoyed. Thanks for another keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Wow! Make this now! I had the idea of combining chicken, spinach, and feta cheese somehow, so I did a search by ingredients, and found this gem! I made some minor adjustments- I happened to have a jar of sundried tomato pesto in my pantry, so I skipped the tomatoes and just used the pesto. I also herbed my own feta by combining a bunch of dried herbs (herbs de provence, parsley, chives, oregano), olive oil, and salt & pepper into a tub of plain feta crumbes. I also took the advice that 2 chicken breasts made for 2 HUGE servings, so I diced up my 2 boobs and quartered the puff pastry sheet to make 4 servings. Having never worked with puff pastry before, I didn't realize how thin and large you could roll it, but this stuff is amazing! I brushed on an egg wash for color and crisp. I didn't change bake time or temp, and they came out perfectly! Served it with a bag of frozen veggies in a balsamic butter sauce, and dinner rolls with the leftover pesto. My husband and I though we'd died and gone to heaven!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Loved this, and it was so elegant! I thought the egg-garlic marinade was a big strange, so I didn't do that part. I used only 1 chicken breast (not sure how two would've fit with only 1 puff pastry sheet cut in half?). I cut the chicken breast in half and pounded it a little thinner (or the puff pastry would have burned by the time the chicken was done). I thought the recipe lacked the basic salt & pepper, so I sprinkled the breasts on both sides (was so glad I did!). I put 1/2 tsp. crushed garlic on each breast before topping with the other ingredients. Note that reduced fat pesto and feta cheese work fine in this recipe! I brushed my puff pastry with a beaten egg to make it glossy, and baked it for 35 minutes. Fantastic! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Believe the hype, this is 5 stars! I used 4 thin sliced chicken breasts and 2 puff pastry sheets cut vertically. I pressed the sheets out a little bit to make it easier to seal. I sealed them into a square shape and pressed the edged with a fork. This made 4 square pockets. I used plain feta and it tasted great without any added italian spices. I did marinate the chicken, but I used 1 TBS of chopped garlic...and felt that was plenty! I put 1 heaping teaspoon of basil pesto on each piece of chicken. It was done at 35 mins, but felt I could have taken it out a little sooner. Check the internal temperature at about 30 mins. The moistness was awesome...so I think it was worth marinating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States