Mediterranean Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This is absolutely delicious! I tried this out at a graduation party for my son...I never test drive recipes at things like that. But, I have to say I did and it was a complete hit! Many asked for the recipe. Hockeymom you are a star! I used GOOD SEASONS ITALIAN DRESSING and toasted a whole small pkg. of pita bread (ripped up) and threw them in. It is very similar to a Lebanese Bread Salad. (Fattoush) We loved it thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Giving this 4 stars for the modifications I made. Threw in sliced black olives, only about 2-3oz of feta, and just a few squeezes of lemon. I also didn't use Italian dressing, but whipped up a small batch of the Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing from this site and used that instead for a truly Greek treat! I let it sit overnight, then splashed in some more dressing right before I took this to a BBQ. Very awesome! I think it's the dressing that really makes this dish because the combination of ingredients really isn't anything special, so make sure you use a really good, robust dressing to set off the veggies and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was great with just a few small changes to suit our tastes. I used really flavorful salad dressing which I think made the difference for us – Paul Newman’s Italian. I doubled the potatoes, dressing (not the lemon) and feta. Skipped the cucumber and did both red and orange peppers for color and crunch. This one tastes better at room temp - it was delicious tasting it when I first made it, and even better the next day! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Ok, I'll admit it, I honeslty didn't measure anything, so I can't comment on the amounts as others did; I know that's not much of a help. Anyway, everyone enjoyed this different take on potato salad. Loved the feta addition. Thank you hockeymom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I'd give this a 10 Plus. I could not stop eating it/half of it was gone before dinner! I followed the reviewers advice (so many agreed to the changes) - I only used a splash or two of lemon juice, I cut way back on the feta cheese and I used only 1/2 the amount of cucumber. The cucumber has a very strong taste in this salad. It was a hit - the next time though I am going to serve the Feta cheese on the side. Thank you so much submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This was very good, but I made some significant changes. I cannot believe that you would really want to use this amount of feta; it must completely overwhelm the other ingredients. I used about 2 ounces of feta with the other proportions being the same. The other changes I made were as follows: used light italian dressing, added fresh parsley, and dried oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Outstanding. Feta flavor was real strong. My kids liked it also, but it was because they love olives. I used kalamata and green olives. I didnt have a green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Wonderful! I like potato salad, but I usually find it has too much mayonaisse (or mustard eww!). This was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherford, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Tastes AND looks great. I made this with red and yellow peppers for color appeal added some Kalamata olives to the mix. Like previous reviewers I only added lemon juice to taste and the result was a unique potato salad perfect for summer. My husband hates typical mayo intense potato salad so he was hesitant when I said I was making potato salad but this was big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
This recipe provides a great foundation for many alterations...I, like some of the previous reviewers, used a little less of the fresh lemon. also i bumped up the "mediterrainean" feel of this by adding a fistfull of mixed green and black olives that had been thinly sliced. Also a sprinkle of mixed herbs and small drizzle of olive oil, to compensate for the reduced use of lemon juice! great on its own and also with the pittas....if you do serve with pittas....serve them warm with a dollop of hoummous smeared on the inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by periperi1984

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States