Mediterranean Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
I made this FABULOUS salad for a barbecue. Everyone enjoyed it! I did substitute the lemon juice & Italian dressing for store bought Oregano & Feta Cheese dressing, and I also used an English cucumber. Thanks for sharing this great recipe Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2000
Very light and refreshing, A nice change from traditionally heavy potato salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
This is delicious! I doubled the recipe and used 1/4 cup of olive oil and 1 tablespoon of vinegar in place of the italian-style salad dressing. I used 1/4 cup of freshly squeezed lemon juice. I added 2 cloves of garlic minced and 1/2 teaspoon of dried oregano and 1 tablespoon of fresh chopped parsley. I even left out the green pepper, cucumber and feta cheese and this was great. It tastes just like the Greek potato salad my mother-in-law always makes. This is great for picnics because it tastes best served at room temperature and you can leave it setting out and you don't have to worry about it spoiling because there is no mayo. Everyone loved this and my husband is always looking for leftovers. We make this all the time, over and over again and everyone asks for this now instead of the potato salad with mayonnaise. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Very good. I used low-fat dressing and extra feta cheese. I let it sit overnight before I served it at a barbecue. Went over very well with the crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
The first time I recreated this recipe was for my Godchild's High School Graduation open house. We served at least 200 people 4 different salads along with Italian Beef on hard crusty rolls. A number of the guests came up to my sister (mother of the graduate) and I proclaiming that we had the "best ever" open house fare. This potato salad was incredibly colorful and beautiful,(we used red, yellow, and orange peppers along with red onions). The flavor is tangy and sassy. FIVE STARS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
This salad is wonderful. It's light but filling and the leftovers are great and don't go soggy. I added kalamata olives and used the Kraft Greek w/Feta Cheese Salad Dressing instead of Italian. It's nice to have a change from the creamy potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Interesting recipe with a great mix of ingredients. May want to scale down the amount of lemon juice and feta...this salad had a little too much "pizazz" for most of my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Pond, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
I hate the traditional style potato salad, ran across this recipe and decided to try it. I LOVED it. As another reviewer mentioned I would use the lemon juice to taste. I actually only added a couple splashes of lemon juice and that was enough for me. I used half the amount of feta the recipe called for and I think that was perfect! Not too tangy for those that don't like tangy cheese. Otherwise I used the recipe as stated. Oh, I also used tri color bell peppers. This salad has a wonderful mix of textures! I cut up my potaoes and veggies very chunky. My whole family thought it was great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
the lemon in this dressing is overpowering. Take it out, and you're really left with cold potatoes in italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This was a big hit at the potluck at work. I onlh added 4oz of feta cheese & I did not serve pita bread either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States