Mediterranean Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
Delicious! If you do not like greek/mediterranean flavors (i.e tangy cheese and salty olives) this recipe is obviously not the choice for you. However, if you are like me and LOVE those flavors this recipe is a huge winner! My husband said it was just ok, but he prefers a richer type sauce with his pasta. The rest of the family loved this dish and I think the flavor combinations are perfect. Not too tangy, not too salty. I changed a few things only slightly. I used chopped kalamata olives and mixed it into the dish just before serving. I used 5 pieces of bacon and cooked them crisp and added them at the very end right before I added the olives. I sprinkled the chicken with Montreal Chicken seasoning then browned it in olive oil and not the bacon grease. I added about 1/4 cup of fresh grated parmesan and a sprinkling of fresh chopped Italian parsley just before serving. After I drained the noodles, I tossed them with the sauce right in the sautee pan so the noodles really absorbed the flavor. A+ in my book, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Exceptional! Make it healthier. Use whole wheat pasta, skip the bacon, pan saute the chicken in olive oil, used reduced or low-fat feta, add extra tomatoes, throw in some mushrooms, squeeze in some fresh lemon juice and ... voilá -- you have a powerhouse of a meal. Eat up, both your health and belly will rejoice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chesapeake Baybe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shenandoah, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Beach, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This was awesome!!! I definitely love the tangy side of it! All I did was add more chicken and while cooking the chicken I threw in about 1/4 tsp of dill weed. Perfect! I WILL be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a0325

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Great blend of flavors, but the instructions don't seem too well thought out. Here's what I did: 1. Marinate chicken for an hour 2. Heat a large pot of water 3. In a large saucepan, add chicken, tomato, and rosemary, and simmer 20 minutes stirring occasionally (I also doubled the rosemary and added marjoram, paprika, and two cloves of crushed garlic) 4. After chicken has cooked for 10 minutes, turn up heat on large pot to bring water to a boil and add pasta 5. When chicken has cooked for 15 minutes, cook bacon (I used 4 slices and it didn't seem to be enough) and drain and crumble. 6. Set chicken on low and drain your pasta. 7. Add artichokes, olives, and bacon. Stir well and cook for about a minute. 8. Either plate the pasta and serve chicken on top or toss everything together and sprinkle feta on top. My reasoning behind doing it this way is the bacon wouldn't stay crispy if simmered for 20 minutes after cooking, and the crunchiness adds a nice contrast in texture, and the same idea goes behind not cooking the feta, the coldness of it coming straight from the fridge contrasts the fact that the meal will be warm. I added some fresh grated Parmesan at the end, because I think pasta and Parm are synonymous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
YUM! This was excellent. I used fresh tomatoes instead of the canned, used a 14 oz can of artichokes rather than the 6 oz suggested, and left out the olives because I didn't have any on hand. I also used 'bacon style' ham, which was awesome because it’s so low in fat and calories but still has a lot of flavour. I made this recipe late Monday night, ate half of it before bed, and finished it by Tuesday afternoon. Ridiculously easy, healthy and delicious! MMMM thank you Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I don't normally leave reviews but I had to for this one. This was great!!! I had to make a few changed but this will be a regular part of my cooking line up. I used canned diced tomates that had onion and green pepper. I also didn't have rosemary so I used oregano. I don't eat pork so I used beef bacon. The bacon wasn't really needed though. I also added a little jar spagehtti sauce because it needed a little more liquid. I also added a tiny bit of sugar. This was great though. I was surprised how much I liked it. Next time, I'm going to use kalamata olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
The whole family enjoys this dish. We have made it several times and none of it has gone to waste. We mixed it up a bit by adding a white wine lemon butter sauce to it but the original is good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
This recipe is to die for! It is now one of my favorites to have. The only thing that I changed in the recipe is that I used marinated artichoke hearts instead of canned artichoke hearts. Soo YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raisin City, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I was really excited for this recipe... I love olives, artichokes, feta, etc... I used canned stuff and it didn't turn out so great. I was super disappointed. Maybe it was an ingredient quality issue? I am not sure, but it was too many ingredients to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was excellent. My boyfriend actually thought it was the best thing I ever made! I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, turkey bacon and I added some chicken broth as well since I wanted more sauce. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States