Mediterranean Orzo Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This will be even better tomorrow when I get some feta to add to the leftovers. I had a pound of ground lamb, and thought I had the ingredients, but when I fixed it I found I didn't have any gluten free orzo, so I used brown rice which takes about 40 minutes to cook, ran out of olive oil after browning the meat, so used organic butter for the greens, discovered I didn't have spinach, so used swiss chard leaves chopped, found I didn't have a lemon or the lime I thought I had, so used apple cider vinegar, and oops, my fresh mint was gone, so used dried soaked in some apple cider vinegar to soften, yeah had the parsley, had to sub leeks for the green onions, and had no feta, which I always have! It still turned out good, and after I have the Feta tomorrow it will be even yummier. Sometime I will have to try it with all of the ingredients on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Wife approved which means it was delish. Followed almost exactly - used frozen spinach and cooked with red onion as that's what the pantry had. Tasted great - even approved by an 8 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Left out the mint and doubled the parsley, that's what I had on hand. And left out the tomatoes and used sundried tomato feta. Used two medium lemons. DH gave his stamp of approval, the lamb was awesome and I suggest using it if you can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Punkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Great and refreshing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
OMG! So delicious and easy. I dare anyone to come up with a variation that's better than the recipe as published. I'll be making this again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
My wife doesn't like tomatoes, so I substituted a combination of chopped Greek olives (green, kalamata). Also subbed 1/4 cup thinly sliced red onion for green onion. This has become a go-to dish and family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This is a really delicious recipe and my famly loved it. I put what was left over in the refrigerator and the next day after Church it tasted even better. My wife like it because it is a healthy recipe. The lemon really adds a wonderful citrus flavor. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I have made this dish twice now and it came out great both times. The reason I deducted one star was because the salad gets very dry and I had to add oil several times just to make sure the ingredients don't all stick together. I guess if you ate it all at one meal and had no leftovers, then the tackiness would not be an issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Perfect with a good glass of red wine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
My family loved this recipe! I used chicken breast instead of lamb and omitted the coriander because I don't care for it. We enjoyed it warm, and I did wilt the spinach a bit before mixing. I gave it four stars because the taste of the parsley didn't add anything and actually detracted from the wonderful flavors a bit. The feta cheese in this recipe was a fantastic choice! I will definitely make this again but will double the recipe for the 6 of us and enjoy the leftovers the next day. In fact, I think I will make it for company next week. They'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracie83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States