Mediterranean Orzo Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Awesome. This recipe is surprisingly good. The only add that I had was ground turkey to satisfy my husband's need for "meat". Crumbles (fake meat) would be just as good and give extra protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Very Good! I used this as a side for Maple Salmon on this site. All the ingredients were wonderful together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This recipe was ok but nothing amazing. I used ground beef but it was very bland after browning it that I had to add more coriander and I added cumin to make it tastier. I also sauteed the spinach with some garlic just for a second to add more flavor because overall if I hadn't the dish would be very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Fabulous! My husband and in-laws raved. I used about half the called for lamb and may use a little less next time although we are not big carnivores. I might also lightly rinse the meat after cooking and add the coriander later as the meat was a bit greasy. All the flavors were wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This was wonderful although I made several substitutions. I used chicken breast instead of lamb, oregano intead of coriander, red pepper instead of tomato & red onion instead of green onion. Ordinarily, I don't make this many changes to a recipe but I used what I had on hand and it turned out delicious in any case. Try it with chicken and oregano!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
"A big POW for the taste buds," my husband said. I had added a few dashes of cinnamon to the sauteeing meat, as in Arabic and Greek recipes, because the coriander taste seemed too stong. I used a bit (1/2 tsp?) of dried mint for fresh. If it seems bland, try the addition of LEMON PEPPER--really worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I had tons of leftover lamb, so I tried this recipe w/ lamb leftovers cut into small bite size pieces and doubled the orzo pasta. It was awesome! I will definately try this and experiment with a variey of meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
forget the spinach. if no scallions, brown regular onions while browning the lamb. after mixing everything together, bake for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I changed this a lot, but thanks for the basic idea. I made lamb patties, seasoned them w/ garlic, paprika, basil, parsley, black pepper, and a little feta chz and grilled them. Then I took a can of Italian style tomatoes and put it in the skillet and let it come to a boil on med high heat. Then I added frozen spinach that was cooked and drained, extra green onions, garlic, the lemon it called for, and mushrooms instead of orzo. I left out any oil that it called for. Other than the high content of fat in ground lamb, this was a quick, healthy meal (and the whole dish doesn't get greasy from cooking the lamb in the skillet w/ the veggies).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
A really great flavor. I used frozen spinach and it worked really well. A delicious dish that is easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States