Mediterranean Orzo Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Delicious fresh taste! Loved the combination of flavors. This is our new favorite summer dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaLizGa
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Very hearty with that great twist of coriander! I used frozen spinach that I thawed under water. I also made this a vegetarian dish by leaving out the meat and also the feta. After cooking and cooling the orzo, I added the tomato (just 1 1/2), lemon juice, parsley, mint and green onion. I sauteed the garlic and added the spinach and then flavored with the coriander, salt and pepper while in the skillet. Served it warm. Interesting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is a great dinner. We made it tonight just as the recipe said and was very impressed. It was a light and fresh dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I make this often using firm tofu instead of lamb. I cook the tofu just as the lamb but practically double the seasonings. This salad is a meal unto itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Delish! This is the first time I've rated a recipe and this one deserves it. Very easy dish and my husband suggested I add this to the rotation every couple weeks! I substituted ground turkey for the lamb as lamb has a high fat content, I also added some kalimata olives but left everything else the same. I would happily make this dish for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Very yummy; I didn't have coriander so I subbed curry and it was delicious. I also subbed lamb cubes (stew meat). Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I did not have any ground lamb so I used 2 bonesless chicken breasts. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I wanted it served hot so just added in the spinach at the end until it wilted slightly. I made it for my daughter and I as a main course. As a main course for the two of us it would have served four people. If my husband was home this amount would have served two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This salad is awesome! I added some chopped cucumber otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Very good! I made the following changes: used ground lean turkey instead of lamb; used sundried tomatoes instead of fresh; added sliced black olives; and added a bit of rosemary and paprika. I did not use the coriander or mint. I also blanched te spinach. The feta cheese was a great addition; with the warm orzo and meat it just blended in and gave it a very savory flavor. How wonderful to make an orzo dish without a stick of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
DELICIOUS! My fiance and I both loved it. I actually chose to wilt the spinach mixture from step 3 to make it more of a warm main course, but it was so good I'm positive it would be fantastic as written. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States