Mediterranean Meat Pies (Sfeeha) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
making it tonight for dinner my dad's mom use to make them all the time, I LOVE THEM, but im omitting the pine nuts and lamb but going to use spinach/meat in some. I'll post pic later :D hope the kids love them, lol kathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Rowe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I followed the directions and thought they were just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Kamp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Yummy little packages bursting with flavor! The combination of lamb and beef brought a really nice depth of flavor to the dish. I went a little heavier on the lamb since my meat from my CSA was already weighed out at 1lb. I made the pies with phyllo dough since that's what I had on hand, and just doubled the layers to get a sturdier outside. I served with Leshta (http://allrecipes.com/personalrecipe/63425078/leshta-bulgarian-lentil-soup/detail.aspx) and yogurt on the side. My husband loved the dish and we will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmerar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Very good snack and/or appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
First, I made it exactly as written. It was delicious! Then I made a second batch exactly as written but added garlic powder. Dusted flour on working counter and cut the pastry sheet into 4 squares. Put the fillings on top, keeping about half inch space around the rim. Cover the pies with the top pastry sheet with 4 slits. Used a fork to press the edges, then brushed top of the pastry with egg so it will turn nice golden brown when baked. My husband loved it! Thank you so much for this great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Always a hit in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was a huge hit at our family gathering. Unfortunately some ate too much & didn't save enough room for dinner! The only things I changed were I used a little less lemon juice, more cinnamon, and added a little sugar and coriander to taste. They were so flavorful, they didn't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!! The meat tasted exactly like the meat from my favorite Lebanese bakery. I could only find ground lamb frozen in 1lb package, so I used the full pound with 1 pound of ground beef. I added a little bit of garlic and some ground allspice. I had to substitute lime juice for lemon, but it didn't seem to matter. My pastry work needs some practice, but I can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Mixture sounds about what I remember but Sitoo's was heavier on the lamb. ..Size of rounds to form the traditional triangle shape shown? I'm no good at geometry :( ..Have you tried scratch dough? Would like to get hold of that recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Wow, were these delicious! I accidentally bought the wrong frozen puff pastry - the shells - but they actually worked just fine. We just had 6 of them along with our dinner and some of the meat mixture left over. I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States