Mediterranean Lentil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Something I will fix again. I used 2 cups beluga lentils instead of 1 cup brown, a healthy dose of italian seasoning instead of just thyme, plus some cumin and paprika. I decided to cook the celery in with the lentils instead of adding them cold afterwards and I'm glad I did. The vinaigrette is good, but once I mixed a little bit of lentils with it, I decided that I liked the lentils better without it. But all is not lost! I'll just use it for a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This was really good, I didn't have any fresh parsley so I substituted dried. My kids who normally like vegetables didn't care for it, but I will definitely make it again anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
When cleaning out cupboards I found way too many lentils and needed a warm weather use for them. I made the recipe just the way it is written. At first my family laughed at me for making lentil salad, but they ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I thought this was bland. I doubt I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
More lemon! More pepper! Good basic flavors and an easy recipe make this great. I liked it better after it had been in the refrigerator for a little while and the flavors had settled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
The first time, I made the recipe as written, and it was a 3 1/2. But since then I've made it just cooking the lentils, and putting everything else in raw, and we're enjoying it much better! It's nice served on a bed of lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Quick and easy...Already had the lentils so I sauteed carrots, celery and onions in olive oil....added other ingredients kicked in some tomatoes, red wine vinegar and a dash of curry powder. my first lentil salad was great! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This was great!!! I served this over short grain brown rice and it was a big hit. I've already sent the recipe around to friends and family. I made the following changes: * I used 2 bay leaves. * I used 1/2 cup parsley. * I sprinkled salt, much less than 1 tsp. * I drizzled a little olive oil instead of using 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Forgot how good lentils are mixed in a salad. I served mine over cooked rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I have made this countless times now and shared the recipe with so many people. I use a leek or two instead of the onion because my husband has onion sensitivities. My toddler even eats this! I have made it for several get-togethers, always a pleaser. In fact, I had it for lunch today. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States