Mediterranean Lentil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Fantastic! I made this for dinner tonight and served it with toasted pita bread, olives and feta and a creamy cucumber salad and it was delicious. I stuck with 1 cup of lentils, though I used green since that's what I had on hand. I also added 3 tsp of cumin and about 2 heaping tsp of curry to the lentils and veggies as they cooked, and I loved the flavor. Didn't have any celery, so I skipped it. Between honey and me we almost finished all 8 servings! I will definitely make this again, only next time I'll probs double it so we'll have some leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.Gizz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I made this as written and it is really good! I dont really like lentils but I thought this had a great healthy and fresh taste to it. It did take me about 15 more minutes to get the lentils soft. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
5 stars when made with raw vegetables. I made it once as written and then again by cooking the lentils only with the bay leaf and keeping the rest of the ingredients raw. I liked it much better with the fresh raw ingredients. I use about half the onion and garlic called for though. Love the fresh lemon juice and olive oil dressing and have at times sub'd out the lemon juice for red wine vinegar! Seasoning/spice can be altered to taste and additional fresh raw veggies can be added as well. I enjoy this salad and make it often. The plus is it is healthy and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
We devoured this salad - even my picky father-in-law enjoyed it. Used vidalia onion instead of red, other than that followed the recipe and it was terrific. Nice healthy side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Good, but not out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPhoto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Even my boyfriend, who doesn't particularly like lentils, loved this! I did leave out the carrots and used lime juice instead of lemon juice since I'm allergic to lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I'm making this for the third time in two weeks. It's easy and my whole household enjoys it. I used green lentils instead of brown. Otherwise I followed the recipe. We don't like waiting for it to chill either so we tried it warm, liked it and decided that we can have it warm on the first day and if there are leftovers we'll have those chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I added tomatoes which made the dish so much better....next time I may try it with cilantro and play around with seasonings. All around, I was pleased with the crisp and refreshing taste...perfect for a summer side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This was a pretty tasty salad. I liked the combination of flavors, but it wasn't quite flavorful enough. I liked the crunch that the celery gave to the salad; I also liked that the other vegetables were cooked with the lentils and spices for more flavor. Although this salad is a little bland, it is very healthy, so thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I liked this quite a bit. I usually like spicy food on a regular basis and this was a good change. It is simple flavors yet tasty. I made it twice before and the second time I think the lentils were overcooked so it was not that great but the first time was perfect. I used red lentils. I like the celery added at the end after the lentils are cooked bc it adds a contrasting crunch to the rest. If you like super spice dishes this is not for you. It is simple yet flavorful in my opinion. It's a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States