Mediterranean Lentil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Pretty good - definitely better the next day after marinating for a while. I added about double the lemon juice, and would probably add a little more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mokie1982

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cardiff By The Sea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I thought this was a very tasty lentil salad. I used regular cooking onion since that's what I had on hand. Will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I personally have been disgusted by lentils for the longest time, (the way their texture mixes with their casings is not appetizing) but this was the best thing I have tasted with lentils. The texture and casings were still bothering me so I decided to make this into a dip/salsa by blending it in the food processor. I did make a few changes, by adding the diced tomatoes and used light Italian dressing instead of oil, then experimented with Chipotle powder, cumin and paprika, to give it more flavor and added more salt and pepper (blending it beforehand seemed to muddle the flavors). It turns out to be a very refreshing dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This is my first time making a lentil salad. I followed the recipe except I added 1/4 cup of fresh chopped mint. It could use a little more lemon but that is up to a person's taste. I will make this again - very good - thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
My first time making (and eating) lentils and this was so easy and SO yummy! I doubled the dressing, and added a touch of liquid aminos to my own bowl. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Hoffecker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I made this using all the ingredients as listed, but I didn't cook all the veggies with the lentils. I only cooked the garlic,half of the onion, bay leaf and thyme. The rest was raw, which I think is best for this salad. I tripled the fresh parsley because it needed it. It also needed a lot more lemon, so I added the juice of one whole lemon. I tried it at room temp and it was very good. I'm looking forward to trying it tomorrow once the flavors meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This recipe is absolutely delicious! To make a larger batch, I cooked 1 cup of brown lentils for about 20 minutes before adding another cup of red lentils and the carrots. I added a bit of extra sweet balsamic vinegar to the mix. I'm definitely going to make this one again! Great for summer and very filling on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Nice texture, healthy enough but bland - I doubled the lemon juice and it just seemed to disappear and leave very little taste of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
A great, easy recipe that doesn't require a bunch of meddling or corrections. The lemon gives it a nice kick, and the celery provides some nice crunch. Will try to serve it chilled next time. This would be a great dish for a picnic or entertaining because you can make it entirely in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Verdibello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Love this! I make it with half the olive oil, often use dried parsley, and have found that yellow onion works very well when I don't have any red. I find it takes a bit of getting used to - most people can take it or leave it the first time they try it - but it really grows on a person. It's one of my favourite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States