Mediterranean Lentil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I made this as written minus parsley because I didn't have any. I expected it to be bland because of the reviews and the missing parsley. That was not the case!!! This tastes sooooo good! It's not bland at all and it didn't need extra dressing. The crunchiness of the celery made up for all the other veggies being cooked. I thought it was perfect. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Simple, easy and tasty! I made it for a potluck and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I hate dicing carrots, so just threw them into the pot in chunks, let them cook with the lentils and onions, then chopped before serving. Much easier!! Very nice salad/side dish, but I used only 1T of oil and that was plenty. Perfect for a vegetarian lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This did keep well and it was a great lunch salad. I did not have fresh parsley, red onion. This would have added the extra zing that would have bumped the rating to 4.5. Maybe cumin?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
We really liked this and even more the next day. I never would have thought the carrots would have cooked enough but they did. I might try using chicken broth instead of water next time. I'm willing to bet that basil would work very well in this also. Thanks jen. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This "Mediterranean Lentil Salad" has a wonderful tangy lemon-thyme dressing, and the perfect texture (firm lentils, crunchy celery, soft carrots and onions). I enjoyed eating it warm, and couldn't stop eating it! I love vegetarian food! I had presoaked my lentils overnight for digestion and rinsed them well before cooking as I usually do. I was concerned that the lentils might cook too quickly for the carrots to be done but there was no issue. I know that there are several types of brown lentils on the market, and I guess I am using the more firm ones. Thank you jen for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This is really good. You will likely feel the need for a little more acidity either through additional lemon juice or your favorite vinegar. I added red wine vinegar. I took the suggestions of others- cooking my lentils in chicken broth instead of water, adding cumin to the cooking lentils, keeping the vegetables raw and cutting back the onion to 1/2 cup. Note- As quickly as possible reduce the lentils to a medium simmer. Boiling or fast simmer causes the mushiness some of the other reviewers experienced. Also, one cup of lentils actually requires 2 cups liquid to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
It smelled really good cooking, but it was really not that flavorful. Also, I don't think it actually makes 8 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juli

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I must have over cooked the lentils because the salad was mushy for me too. It also wasn't flavorful enough for our taste. We improved it by adding apple cider vinegar like previous comments suggested. I think next time I will try it with all raw veges and serve it cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This was really good! I loved it! I followed the recipe, and was just so happy with the way it tasted, smelled, etc. I raved about this to my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States