Mediterranean Lamb and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I hate to be one of those people who changes the recipe and then reviews it, but alas, my nature can't help fiddling... when I think lamb and lentils, I think Middle Eastern, so I switched up the spices a bit, but this is a great recipe nonetheless and one I will certainly make again and again! Changes I made were: 1) used lamb loin chops instead of shoulder arm because that's all I could find 2) altered spices to about 1/4 tsp each of fresh rosemary and thyme, plus 1/2 tsp each of freshly-ground coriander and cumin, a pinch or 2 of garam masala, a pinch of powdered ginger, and lots of freshly-ground black pepper 3) cut the lemon to half, because after tasting found that was plenty (and I'm a lemon fanatic) 4) used crushed tomatoes instead of diced because I have an anti-tomato-chunk person in the family 5) added about 1/4 cup red wine and 6) cooked in a slow cooker after browning lamb and cooking onion and garlic. Don't mean to insult the creator at all, because I'm sure it's fantastic the original way, and it was fantastic with a couple alterations! Seriously yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This is a rich and hearty dish. Add the rice pilaf and a crusty slab of rustic whole grain bread and you have a wonderful combination
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan The Bread Baker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grapevine, Texas, USA
Living In: Muenster, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This is an amazing recipe! The flavor is awesome! I substituted chicken thighs (seasoned with salt & pepper, then browned); added 1/2 white wine; doubled the spinach; and served over rice pilaf as suggested. Easy one pot dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Mmm, s'good. I let the lentils soak the night before. That worked well because they required less cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Absolutely Delicious and very very easy to make! We will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This stew was AWESOME!!! My husband made it for me as a surprise because of all the veggies (I'm pregnant) and it was DELICIOUS...and it even tasted better as the days went on. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This was an excellent recipe! At 47, I had never cooked with lamb before and this was a wonderful first! Because of a busy day, i literally threw this together. Upon initial serving, I forgot to continue and add the spinach and lemon zest. I also could not find the ricotta salata cheese. My men RAVED over the flavor! My husband was bowled over by the richness of it. The comment by the author about including the bones when cooking the lamb was so correct and I'm glad I followed that suggestion! I told my husband that I'd forgotten a couple of ingredients and he commented that he didn't know that ANYTHING could imiprove the flavor. The next time I did serve it with spinach added and the lemon. The lemon was excellent as well. I can highly recommend this recipe. I had no time to play with ingredients as I always try to use a recipe as written first. I doubled it and (stretching it with extra chicken broth and tomatoes added later with the spinach) had enough to serve over brown rice for three dinners for four people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Fantastic! I made exactly as directed and it was delicous. I used boneless lamb roast from Costco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
My husband and I both loved it. I didn't even have sage for the recipe, but it was still great. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I have made this recipe twice with lamb and last night tried a "poor man's" version, substituting chicken thighs and sage sausage in place of the lmab. All three times have been a huge hit with my boyfriend (he's the only one I cook for, so that means a lot to me :-) But we both agree the lamb, and the simmering with the shoulder bones/marrow, definitely has that something in the flavor that makes it ooohhhhhh so good! But we like both... and it just gets better in the fridge! I have already committed this one to memory... my only issue is I have such a hard time cubing up the shoulder chops, but it is worth it, and definitely a labor of love for my lamb-loving boyfriend :-) Love love love this flavorful stew!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States