Mediterranean Lamb and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This is an amazing recipe! The flavor is awesome! I substituted chicken thighs (seasoned with salt & pepper, then browned); added 1/2 white wine; doubled the spinach; and served over rice pilaf as suggested. Easy one pot dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I hate to be one of those people who changes the recipe and then reviews it, but alas, my nature can't help fiddling... when I think lamb and lentils, I think Middle Eastern, so I switched up the spices a bit, but this is a great recipe nonetheless and one I will certainly make again and again! Changes I made were: 1) used lamb loin chops instead of shoulder arm because that's all I could find 2) altered spices to about 1/4 tsp each of fresh rosemary and thyme, plus 1/2 tsp each of freshly-ground coriander and cumin, a pinch or 2 of garam masala, a pinch of powdered ginger, and lots of freshly-ground black pepper 3) cut the lemon to half, because after tasting found that was plenty (and I'm a lemon fanatic) 4) used crushed tomatoes instead of diced because I have an anti-tomato-chunk person in the family 5) added about 1/4 cup red wine and 6) cooked in a slow cooker after browning lamb and cooking onion and garlic. Don't mean to insult the creator at all, because I'm sure it's fantastic the original way, and it was fantastic with a couple alterations! Seriously yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This stew was AWESOME!!! My husband made it for me as a surprise because of all the veggies (I'm pregnant) and it was DELICIOUS...and it even tasted better as the days went on. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Absolutely Delicious and very very easy to make! We will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
My husband and I both loved it. I didn't even have sage for the recipe, but it was still great. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This was easy and nutritious. I added more chopped vegetables and served over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Excellent!!! I was a little nervous about adding the tomatoes, spinach, and lemon; but these ingredients really do add a lot to the soup. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Mmm, s'good. I let the lentils soak the night before. That worked well because they required less cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimo
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Great stew. Could use more spice, but that doesn't take away from how good this recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
An excellent, fairly easy to make dish. I did not have fresh Spinach or some of the dried herbs but it still came out really tasty. I have already done it twice in the past month. Will make it again for sure. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States