Mediterranean Lamb and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I'm giving this recipe five stars even though I didn't make it as indicated. Since I only had chicken quarters on hand, I used those and de-boned them after cooking. The entire meal was sublime, well-balanced and healthy ;) I'll definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This is a really good, I have passed it on to several friends even the ones who say they don't like lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This stew is amazing. We made a double batch just to make it last longer. We served it over rice as well. Great flavor and texture.. Will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Madson
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This is a rich and hearty dish. Add the rice pilaf and a crusty slab of rustic whole grain bread and you have a wonderful combination
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan The Bread Baker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grapevine, Texas, USA
Living In: Muenster, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I have made this recipe twice with lamb and last night tried a "poor man's" version, substituting chicken thighs and sage sausage in place of the lmab. All three times have been a huge hit with my boyfriend (he's the only one I cook for, so that means a lot to me :-) But we both agree the lamb, and the simmering with the shoulder bones/marrow, definitely has that something in the flavor that makes it ooohhhhhh so good! But we like both... and it just gets better in the fridge! I have already committed this one to memory... my only issue is I have such a hard time cubing up the shoulder chops, but it is worth it, and definitely a labor of love for my lamb-loving boyfriend :-) Love love love this flavorful stew!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Awesome. First time cooking lamb in a stew and this was the bomb. I omitted the chicken broth and lemon altogether because there was already too much liquid. I did add one beef bouillon cube and simmered it uncovered to reduce the liquid. Also added rosemary. Great over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Fantastic! I made exactly as directed and it was delicous. I used boneless lamb roast from Costco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This was an excellent recipe! At 47, I had never cooked with lamb before and this was a wonderful first! Because of a busy day, i literally threw this together. Upon initial serving, I forgot to continue and add the spinach and lemon zest. I also could not find the ricotta salata cheese. My men RAVED over the flavor! My husband was bowled over by the richness of it. The comment by the author about including the bones when cooking the lamb was so correct and I'm glad I followed that suggestion! I told my husband that I'd forgotten a couple of ingredients and he commented that he didn't know that ANYTHING could imiprove the flavor. The next time I did serve it with spinach added and the lemon. The lemon was excellent as well. I can highly recommend this recipe. I had no time to play with ingredients as I always try to use a recipe as written first. I doubled it and (stretching it with extra chicken broth and tomatoes added later with the spinach) had enough to serve over brown rice for three dinners for four people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
An excellent, fairly easy to make dish. I did not have fresh Spinach or some of the dried herbs but it still came out really tasty. I have already done it twice in the past month. Will make it again for sure. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimo
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Great stew. Could use more spice, but that doesn't take away from how good this recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States