Mediterranean Lamb and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Excellent flavor but we added canned Fire Roasted Tomatoes and ONLY used Fresh Herbs- also the lamb was left over from Rotisserie and cubed- and added for the last 10 minutes of cooking. Did not use the ricotta cheese and only used a PINCH of lemon zest. (We tested a small bite with more lemon and felt it overtook the dish). Otherwise a simple dish and very hearty and filling. Would recommend serving with fresh baked pita bread and sliced cucumber. LOVED this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I tried this recipe today, it was very nice and filling but I think it could be em proved with some herbs and spices. Next time I'll try adding a little spice but that's just me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Excellent lamb recipe! Love the healthy vegetables involved and the fresh taste the lemon provides. Family loved this meal. Just a note, I only used a half a lemon for juice and zest and found it to be just right. Definitely try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I'm giving this recipe five stars even though I didn't make it as indicated. Since I only had chicken quarters on hand, I used those and de-boned them after cooking. The entire meal was sublime, well-balanced and healthy ;) I'll definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This is a really good, I have passed it on to several friends even the ones who say they don't like lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This stew is amazing. We made a double batch just to make it last longer. We served it over rice as well. Great flavor and texture.. Will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Madson
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This is a rich and hearty dish. Add the rice pilaf and a crusty slab of rustic whole grain bread and you have a wonderful combination
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan The Bread Baker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grapevine, Texas, USA
Living In: Muenster, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I have made this recipe twice with lamb and last night tried a "poor man's" version, substituting chicken thighs and sage sausage in place of the lmab. All three times have been a huge hit with my boyfriend (he's the only one I cook for, so that means a lot to me :-) But we both agree the lamb, and the simmering with the shoulder bones/marrow, definitely has that something in the flavor that makes it ooohhhhhh so good! But we like both... and it just gets better in the fridge! I have already committed this one to memory... my only issue is I have such a hard time cubing up the shoulder chops, but it is worth it, and definitely a labor of love for my lamb-loving boyfriend :-) Love love love this flavorful stew!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Awesome. First time cooking lamb in a stew and this was the bomb. I omitted the chicken broth and lemon altogether because there was already too much liquid. I did add one beef bouillon cube and simmered it uncovered to reduce the liquid. Also added rosemary. Great over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Fantastic! I made exactly as directed and it was delicous. I used boneless lamb roast from Costco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States