Mediterranean Greek Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
Great, quick recipe, but I changed it a bit. I omitted the sun dried tomatoes, and just used olive oil, salt and freshly ground pepper for the dressing. I also chopped all ingredients for a nice texture and added fresh oregeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
416 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This is the best greek salad recipe I've come across. Using Kalamata olives instead of black olives is a must though. Both my husband and I thought the sun-dried tomatoes really made this salad great. Next time I will toss the salad with a dash of oil and then sprinkle the feta cheese on top. The oil from the sun-dried tomatoes turned my feta cheese pink and took away from the appearance. I may also try this salad with an infused oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
I didn't seed my cucumbers, and I added a tablespoon of good quality balsamic vinegar just to pick it up a little. This is exactly what a Mediterranean Greed Salad should taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This is absolutely the best Greek salad I've had outside of Greece! Refreshing and beautiful! Definitely use kalamata olives, though. I followed the advice of other reviewers and used just 1 Tbls. of the oil and added 1 Tbls. red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisBride&Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
This was a great base for a salad recipe, however, I found it to be a bit bland. So I added 1-2 tsp mediterranean rice seasoning, a little jamaican allspice, some cracked pepper and salt. Also a bunch of fresh torn spinach and some romaine...got rave reviews from all!!! Thanks Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANCHGIRL_59714

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belgrade, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This is my Greek boyfriend's favorite Greek salad ever. The sundried tomatoes really make the salad. I add a little extra olive oil and some red wine vinegar (and lots of salt and pepper). This recipe can easily be made ahead, but I add the feta just before serving. Fabulous summer salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Excellent recipe! I used kalamata olives instead and it was still delicious. I peeled the cucumbers, which I think takes away from the color of the salad, but I don't like the texture of the peel. I only used 1 tbs. of the sun-dried tomato oil and added 1 tbs. of red wine vinegar instead (a little more tang). Lastly, I added a bit of cumin to give it a little extra flavor. Will definitely repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
This salad was tasty and easy to prepare. My husband ate two big bowls and we both absolutely loved it. I only put in two cucumbers instead of three but it was still delicious. If you plan to bring this to a party, it needs to be made fresh before serving. I brought leftovers today for my lunch and it was runny and soggy, still good, but will not present well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
This was a refreshing salad, easy to make. I forgot to put in the sundried tomatoes, but it stilled turned out wonderful! My husband loved it. It did get quite a bit runny though--I actually had to drain some of the liquid before serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Keltz Chamblin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anacortes, Washington, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
I received high praise from my family when I made this salad. I served it with the Greek Chicken and Greek Style Potatoes (both recipes on this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States