Mediterranean Greek Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
Great, quick recipe, but I changed it a bit. I omitted the sun dried tomatoes, and just used olive oil, salt and freshly ground pepper for the dressing. I also chopped all ingredients for a nice texture and added fresh oregeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
409 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This is the best greek salad recipe I've come across. Using Kalamata olives instead of black olives is a must though. Both my husband and I thought the sun-dried tomatoes really made this salad great. Next time I will toss the salad with a dash of oil and then sprinkle the feta cheese on top. The oil from the sun-dried tomatoes turned my feta cheese pink and took away from the appearance. I may also try this salad with an infused oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
I didn't seed my cucumbers, and I added a tablespoon of good quality balsamic vinegar just to pick it up a little. This is exactly what a Mediterranean Greed Salad should taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This is absolutely the best Greek salad I've had outside of Greece! Refreshing and beautiful! Definitely use kalamata olives, though. I followed the advice of other reviewers and used just 1 Tbls. of the oil and added 1 Tbls. red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisBride&Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
This was a great base for a salad recipe, however, I found it to be a bit bland. So I added 1-2 tsp mediterranean rice seasoning, a little jamaican allspice, some cracked pepper and salt. Also a bunch of fresh torn spinach and some romaine...got rave reviews from all!!! Thanks Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANCHGIRL_59714

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belgrade, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This is my Greek boyfriend's favorite Greek salad ever. The sundried tomatoes really make the salad. I add a little extra olive oil and some red wine vinegar (and lots of salt and pepper). This recipe can easily be made ahead, but I add the feta just before serving. Fabulous summer salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Excellent recipe! I used kalamata olives instead and it was still delicious. I peeled the cucumbers, which I think takes away from the color of the salad, but I don't like the texture of the peel. I only used 1 tbs. of the sun-dried tomato oil and added 1 tbs. of red wine vinegar instead (a little more tang). Lastly, I added a bit of cumin to give it a little extra flavor. Will definitely repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
This salad was tasty and easy to prepare. My husband ate two big bowls and we both absolutely loved it. I only put in two cucumbers instead of three but it was still delicious. If you plan to bring this to a party, it needs to be made fresh before serving. I brought leftovers today for my lunch and it was runny and soggy, still good, but will not present well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
This was a refreshing salad, easy to make. I forgot to put in the sundried tomatoes, but it stilled turned out wonderful! My husband loved it. It did get quite a bit runny though--I actually had to drain some of the liquid before serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anacortes, Washington, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
I received high praise from my family when I made this salad. I served it with the Greek Chicken and Greek Style Potatoes (both recipes on this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States