Mediterranean Greek Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I was very happy with this recipe. Simple, colorful and really zippy. It would definitely benefit from marinating longer. I had leftovers, so I'm anxious to see what this salad tastes like after the extra marinating time. We love sun dried tomatoes so we added extra of those plus a little bit of olive oil. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Too much onion. I'd recommend half as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey East

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Okeechobee, Florida, USA
Living In: Mill Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Yummy & easy to make. I didn't have the sundried toms. & added the tbs of balsamic. Very good even w/o the balsamic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Landenberg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This was a 3 1/2 salad. This was a good salad but...and I don't know what you could do to improve it. But I do say you need to slice the cucumbers in little rounds other than slice them long and I don't reccomend adding any dressing or vinegar but you try what you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Perfect! It made a large batch, so if you are not feeding a whole dinner party, you should modify the amounts as it needs to be eaten within 24 hours of putting together or the cucumbers won't survive. By all means try this out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I really love this type of salad and followed it very closely except I passed on the use of the tomato oil and added some simple greek dressing (just a bit)that I made right before serving. I also waited to add the feta until that point. I would absolutely recommend seeding the cucumber and most of the seeds from the tomatoes or it will get too watery (from what I'd read in other reviews) I did that and made it in the morning and served it around 5 pm and it wasn't very watery at all. A few bits of advice, definitely use kalamata olives if you can; they're SO much better and different than black olives. Also, this is a rather pricey salad. I spent around $17.00 on the ingredients, Feta, dried tomatoes and Kalamata Olives alone were around $12.00. It was well worth it though, everyone raved and ate seconds and you get a nice sized bowl of salad. Lastly, it doesn't look very pretty after a few hours of sitting out with dressing. Plan on eating most of it the same day; but only I have to look at the tiny bowl of leftovers tomorrow. It will probably taste just as great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I made this more of a salad. I tore up green lettuce, not iceberg, and then added the vegetables on top of it. I didn't use the sun dried tomatoes to cut out some of the cost. I also made a dressing of 1/2 cup of olive oil, 1/2 cup of vegetable oil, 2 tablespoons of fresh ground paper, 2 tsp of salt, a couple of shakes of ground red pepper, and 1/6-1/4 cup of red wine vinegar. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKiesler

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This salad is delicious. I added a few more sun-dried tomatoes and only used 1 cucumber. Also added a splash of balsamic vinegar..which gave it a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This was yummy. I used kalamata instead of black olives, and chopped them up into smaller pieces. I also used the dressing called "Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing" from allrecipes instead of theirs. Omitted the sundried tomatoes because the grocery store was out. Just goes to show you can't mess this one up by being creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Really tasty, but I ended up making a greek dressing to pour over it because I thought it a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States