Mediterranean Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I rarely cook fish and this recipe was delicious. However, I deleted the cinnamon completely and added about a tablespoon of hot chili sauce. I also cut the black pepper in half. This is a tremendously fast, easy, and inexpensive stew that I will surely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This was delicious! My wife and daughter loved this, and it reminded us of the Thai classic, fried fish with homemade tomato and chili sauce. I made it with tilapia, which is very north African, and the earthy freshwater taste came through the spicy stew well. I also used a small cinnamon stick instead of the powder. I would recommend this for all stews and curries which use cinnamon, because you can take it out when you feel that the stew has enough cinnamon flavour. Instead of putting pasta in the stew, I served it spooned over couscous with mint, almonds and red onion. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
EXCELLENT RECIPE.....USED TIPALIA, LOVE THE PAPRIKA AND CINNAMON, HUSBAND FINISHED THE SKILLET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
So easy, so tasty, so healthy. I sometimes add shrimp, calamari, and/or clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
As most of us do I changed this recipe a little bit...Oh I know, daring! I used two packets of fresh 'seafood herbs' from Wholefoods instead of the Parsley and Cilantro. I used chicken stock instead of water and floured the diced fish. I really cooked the sauce down for about an 1hr or so. This made the flavour nice and rich. My husband was impressed and I was too! It really is a lovely winter warmer without using cream and heavy ingredients. A Snuggie for your belly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatC

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
With tweaking this is a five star stew. My husband says it's his new favorite. I used 1 lb white fish and 1/2 lb scallops, which was very tasty. Also added sugar and cayenne to round out the flavors. Substitute broth for water and/or use boullion for flavor. Also added celery with leaves for more texture. Next time might add kale. Recommend cooking the pasta or other starch seperately, since it absorbs the liquid when refrigerated and gets mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this! This stew was fairly easy to make and super delicious. I was a little nervous with the inclusion of cinnamon and paprika in the recipe but it added a yummy richness to the stew. The only changes I made were using 1c. of clam stock in place of one of the cups of water that was called for (just because I had it in my pantry) and I did only add 1tbsp of pepper at the end instead of 2 tbsp. as I was serving it to my family and I knew the kids wouldn't touch it if it was too spicy. The pasta I chose was 3oz. of orzo and this was a great complement to the dish as well. Thanks so much for the recipe. I think it would be great served as a course for a holiday dinner or to serve for company on a chilly evening. I also loved that this stew is hearty yet pretty healthy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Fabulous and easy!! My family loved it!! This will become a regular meal for us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Made it almost exactly except used fresh diced tomatoes. Very easy to make and healthy, but the flavor was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Loved this recipe! Easy to make. My husband wasn't too sure about the cinnamon, but we really liked it. NO leftovers, so that's always a good sign. Paired really well with Potato rolls!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Flounder Mediterranean

Healthy baked flounder seasoned with the flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States