Mediterranean Fish Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
Delicious and easy. Just throw it all in the Crock Pot. I substituted a bag of frozen seafood medley (shrimp, scallop, calamari) for the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
The only thing I would change is maybe half the amount of fennel. Just a hint of the strong fennel flavor makes it great. Also some fresh black olives with a stronger flavor would make it better than just using regular canned black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is an excellent recipe! The broth is extremely delicious. I don't have a slow cooker so I just cooked it on the stove and it turned out great. I also omitted fennel and diced tomatoes and added fresh mushrooms. The combination of orange juice, wine, and tomato is extremely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
This recipe was great, I omitted the olives and substituted Tilapia instead of cod. I slow cooked it all day and actually added the shrimp and fish at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Despite the hot weather, for some reason I was craving a hearty soup for lunch today. I left out the green bell pepper (don't like it cooked) and the olives (didn't have any), and I used a fresh fennel bulb instead of seeds, and fresh mushrooms instead of canned. Because I was in a bit of a hurry, I cooked the soup in a pan on the stove top. Dang, this was SO good! Don't forget some crusty bread to mop up the brothy goodness. Delicious! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I love the combination of flavors in this soup- it's so bright and cheery. I make it on the stove, and it's ready in under an hour. For a little extra heartiness, I add a can of artichoke hearts if I have them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather_in_VA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
everybody loved it - my little one wanted an additional serving. Though, I have to admit I did make some changes: didn't use a slowcooker and stewed it for 30-40 min (didn't keep time very carefully), used fresh mushrooms, added 1/2 cup tomato puree and fresh instead of dried basil. also, tried it with halibut, celery instead of fennel (as a sort of substitute as I didn't have any kind of fennel left), some fresh thyme, and basil was actually a spoonful of pesto genovese. And, for the second version didn't have shrimps. anyway, it turned out great both times. last thing we would say about it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Very yummy! Loved the fennel seed taste with the combination of ingredients. Added a whole bell pepper, 2 tsp. of dried parsley, and 2 cans of olives. I cooked it on the stove top on medium high heat. The soup served 8 people. I served this soup along with sauteed asparagus, salmon cakes, and a flan dessert. Will cook again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ragazza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was excellent! I was skeptical about adding orange juice, but did based on other reviews. It was delicious. I did not add olives, green peppers, and bay leaves because we personally don't like them and did not have fennel or fennel seeds on hand. It was still good :-). After making this once, I could consider adding in more vegetables such as zuchini and carrots, but would be happy just as is. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AmyCeltic
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
5 Stars is not enough! Truly not enough! Making soup is my specialty and this soup is amazing! I had a special request for fish soup from a very picky eater, so when I found this recipe, I thought it sounded good. I was amazed! And the crock pot did most of the work! I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned (the picky eater won't eat canned) and I used fresh mushrooms. The picky eater gave this thumbs up, and after three bowls said that he wished he could eat more! Thank you for sharing this recipe! I will add this to my soup repetoire, as it is fabulous and wonderful for Lent! I was also skeptical about the orange juice and I added it, and am so happy that I did! This is a 10 Star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyCeltic

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flounder Mediterranean

Healthy baked flounder seasoned with the flavors of the Mediterranean.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States