Mediterranean Fish Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
Delicious and easy. Just throw it all in the Crock Pot. I substituted a bag of frozen seafood medley (shrimp, scallop, calamari) for the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
This recipe was great, I omitted the olives and substituted Tilapia instead of cod. I slow cooked it all day and actually added the shrimp and fish at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Despite the hot weather, for some reason I was craving a hearty soup for lunch today. I left out the green bell pepper (don't like it cooked) and the olives (didn't have any), and I used a fresh fennel bulb instead of seeds, and fresh mushrooms instead of canned. Because I was in a bit of a hurry, I cooked the soup in a pan on the stove top. Dang, this was SO good! Don't forget some crusty bread to mop up the brothy goodness. Delicious! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is an excellent recipe! The broth is extremely delicious. I don't have a slow cooker so I just cooked it on the stove and it turned out great. I also omitted fennel and diced tomatoes and added fresh mushrooms. The combination of orange juice, wine, and tomato is extremely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cazuela
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I too made this on the stovetop. I added chopped fresh fennel (green stalk), chopped green beans, and a pinch of cayenne. I added the fish with the shrimp, about 10 minutes before serving. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I love the combination of flavors in this soup- it's so bright and cheery. I make it on the stove, and it's ready in under an hour. For a little extra heartiness, I add a can of artichoke hearts if I have them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather_in_VA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I enjoyed this soup a lot! My husband however, thought it was a little bland. I will make it again. I followed the recipe except I did not drain the tomatoes and I added a little bit more olives than required. I also cooked it on the stove instead of a crock pot. lightly sautéed the onions and peppers before adding everything else. I wouldn't skip the fennel like others, I think that is the one spice that really adds dimension to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
everybody loved it - my little one wanted an additional serving. Though, I have to admit I did make some changes: didn't use a slowcooker and stewed it for 30-40 min (didn't keep time very carefully), used fresh mushrooms, added 1/2 cup tomato puree and fresh instead of dried basil. also, tried it with halibut, celery instead of fennel (as a sort of substitute as I didn't have any kind of fennel left), some fresh thyme, and basil was actually a spoonful of pesto genovese. And, for the second version didn't have shrimps. anyway, it turned out great both times. last thing we would say about it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
very yummy flavor...especially with rolls to soak up the broth. Needs salt though...quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
The only thing I would change is maybe half the amount of fennel. Just a hint of the strong fennel flavor makes it great. Also some fresh black olives with a stronger flavor would make it better than just using regular canned black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flounder Mediterranean

Healthy baked flounder seasoned with the flavors of the Mediterranean.

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States