Mediterranean Fish Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This was pretty bland. Texture was nice, but no amount a seasoning I added could really revive this soup. I'm becoming disenchanted with slow-cooker recipes in general, so maybe this just wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tank Blankenship

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This was excellent. I substituted salmon, rock fish and scallops for the cod and shrimp. Used fresh cremini mushrooms. Did not have fennel so I omitted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
The best soup I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I was searching for a good recipe that allowed for wiggle room on ingredients - it was clean out the freezer and pantry for soup night. This was perfect. We used up some garbanzo beans, frozen snapper, frozen veggies, and dried mushrooms we had. Substituted anise seed for fennel. Our liquid ingredients were almost identical to the recipe (except we used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth). Fantastic. The soup was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
So, so good. Made this for a casual get together for 9 (doubled the recipe) and it was a huge hit. We didn't have much left over at all. Added two potatoes small dice and a half can of white beans pureed to get a little fuller broth. Used red and yellow peppers instead of green, no mushrooms or olives - don't judge, just wasn't feeling it. I like a little spicier soup so added red pepper flakes and tabasco but the basic broth is really delicious so start with that. The orange juice added a very fresh taste but indiscernible. I used shrimp, cod, salmon and scallops, all small dice, and the flavors and textures were wonderful together. Made the broth the day before for ease and to let the flavors blend so 'day of prep' was a breeze. Try this - it's just really great. This is a very forgiving base recipe so have some fun with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dove Canyon, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Recipe was just "so-so". My husband and I had it two times and it just didn't get the "keeper" status. Had to use red pepper flakes at the table to give it some pizzaz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Very yummy! Loved the fennel seed taste with the combination of ingredients. Added a whole bell pepper, 2 tsp. of dried parsley, and 2 cans of olives. I cooked it on the stove top on medium high heat. The soup served 8 people. I served this soup along with sauteed asparagus, salmon cakes, and a flan dessert. Will cook again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ragazza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
somehow this was my least favorite of the recipes I've made from Allrecipe.com. I'm not sure what it is. Could it be the wine I used? I used tilapia instead of cod; I used frozen shrimp, thawed of course. I just didn't like the flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This soup was not bad, but so entirely "so-so" that I will probably never make it again. On the plus side, it was really quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I left out the mushrooms, but did everything else as written. I was surprised how good it was. It was very different with the olives and orange juice, but had a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flounder Mediterranean

Healthy baked flounder seasoned with the flavors of the Mediterranean.

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States