Mediterranean Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Gloria Wirhowski
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Love it! Prepared exactly as is and my husband said it was very good. This is one way to get him to eat his fish. Thanks for posting because I will be making this part of my regulars. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I use this recipe for my stuffed sole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I had some scallops that needed to be used and was looking for something different. These were to die for! I used thawed shrimp instead of canned, cut back on the chile peppers ever so slightly and used Panko instead of regular bread crumbs. After sauteing the scallops and shrimp, I deglazed the pan with a little white wine and reserved that liquid. After cooking the cakes, I deglazed that pan with the reserved liquid, stirred in some cooked brown rice and served the cakes over the rice. Very tasty combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
We Loved this - I think they're better than crab cakes. Because of dietary restrictions, I substitued 1/2 cup eggbeaters for the one egg. I finely chopped the scallops before sauteeing, and substituted 8 large shrimp finely chopped & sauteed for canned shrimp. I added 1 tsp Dill and substituted 1/8 tsp Chili Power for fresh hot chile peppers. Instead of flour, I dipped the cakes in eggbeaters and dredged lightly in oats. Next time I'll add some chopped celery. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
really great recipe, we used fresh catch from fishing trip and it was great. Texture and spices were excellent and after lots of prep, the final product was easy to make just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
If I can make this dish and get rave reviews anyone can since I rarely cook. I literally threw it together knowing I wouldn't have a second to spare to make it on time to a traditional Italian 7-fish-dinner Christmas Eve celebration with friends. I snuck 2 cakes before leaving my house -mmmm yummy. They were a smash success. I used the exact recipe above, except also added fresh dill. Easy and very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This recipe was great! I too was forced to make substitutions due to budgets. I used a can of spicy thai tuna to replace the scallops and shrimp. I also added scallions and cilantro. I can't eat flour so i used oats instead of bread crumbs. They were absolutely superb! I look forward to using the original ingredients on my next attempt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I made a Poor-man's version of this - using an extra can of tuna instead of the shrimp and scallops...and a splash of spaghetti sauce instead of the tomatoes, and almost all dried seasoning...like I said: Poor-man's version. This probably didn't give your recipe much justice, but it was still really good, I'm glad to find a new way to eat tuna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

How to Grill Fish

See how to choose fresh fish--and get tips on grilling.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States