Mediterranean Farfalle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by senlin
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Very nice recipe, came up in the search results after typing a few ingredients I knew I had at home. Turned out I didn't need to buy anything :) I replaced the tomato with half a pot of sundried tomatoes on oil and took the cup of wine as a side. I also fried the garlic, chorizo and tomatoes together after browning the pinetree nuts. I think this is how the recipes overhere are meant to work: they give you inspiration to make your own version of what you read.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I really enjoyed this dish, but was unsure whether the author intended to include red wine or red wine vinegar. It was a little too tangy with the vinegar, but then I did cut the oil in half without cutting down on the vinegar. Because this was fine with half the oil, I might try using half wine and half vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I made this for a potluck birthday barbecue. I used basalmic instead of red wine vinegar, which gave it a really gourmet taste. In addition, I added FINELY diced yellow squash, swiss chard and onions from my garden when I was sauteing the meat and garlic. I had no pine nuts but I did add a can of black olives. Otherwise a followed the recipe. The chorizo was also gourmet made by a small local company. The whole dish was outstanding and got rave reviews. It was hard for everyone to figure out all that was in it. What fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Need to let it set for a couple of hours. It also tastes great with white wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camden, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Great recipe. Made it with angel hair pasta. Used both chorizo and regular sausage as well as some mushrooms, but kept everything else the same. Made it for my family as well as on a beach vacation. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Really terrific taste! I was looking for a different way to prepare pasta and this is a winner. Only changes I made were canned diced tomatoes and "vegetarian" sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This was really good! I didn't have the pine nuts, but even without was a big hit. This made quite a bit and the leftovers were even great the next day and I'm not a big leftover person. Thank you, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I thought this was a restaurant caliber dish. The flavors were intense and blended so nicely together. I made this according to the directions except I used whole wheat ziti for the pasta and I used a bit more fresh basil than the recipe called for. I also cut the chorizo links into little cubes instead of frying it loose. My husband really enjoyed it to. My only complaint was that I think you could use a little less extra virgin olive oil. There was oil left on our plates at the end of the meal. But a VERY fast and wonderful taste experience !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I use this basic recipe, but I have put a twist on it. I use the pasta, the toasted pine nuts, then add sauted veggies (I like snow peas, orange and yellow peppers, zucchini, asperagus, and mushrooms). Blend all together with olive oil and/or pesto. Add Asiago and/or Parmesan cheese and have a feast! If I want to use this as a main course I often add pre-cooked shrimp or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oh-Be-Joyful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I love this dish. I use balsamic vinegar and turkey sausage. I have made it several times and it never disappoints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Farfalle with Giardiniera

See how pickled vegetables add big flavor to a simple, healthy pasta dish.

Mediterranean Stuffed Swordfish

Five-star swordfish steaks stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States