Mediterranean Chickpea Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I normally make the Goya Mediterranean salad from the site. I thought I would try a different one for a change, but I really had to tweak this after tasting it as is. Only change I had made was just using a 1/4 of an onion, but the raw onion and green pepper was just so over powering. I ended up having to double all of the ingredients but those two, to balance the flavors. I was able to save it by doing that and adding some seasonings. However, the next day it still had that raw onion and pepper crunch and pronounced flavor. Will more likely toss this one unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Very good and very simple! I used red pepper instead of green, and I also added salt and pepper to taste, a touch of curry powder and a pinch of cayenne to give a bit of a kick. Great as a side or just as a snack. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Excellent when cilantro is added as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Benner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, except I used a regular onion instead of a red one. I didn't like it as much as all of my guests did, but all of my guests thought it was the best dish of the night. I found it a bit bland and thought that perhaps a splash of balsamic would help, but all that aside, thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Added cucumber
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This recipe is "flat". There needs to be a seasoning taste - whether you add salt and pepper, feta cheese, blue crumbled cheese, balsamic vinegar...These are the suggestions also in the reviews. If you don't have "confidence" around flavors, then "trust" these suggestions. Add cukes, carrots etc...Great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Got compliments for it. Simple easy and tasty. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuly
Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Moravia, San Jose , Costa Rica
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Love this recipe - can be made in just a few minutes and tastes great! Added more lemon for more tangy flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Great idea!! We did make lots of modifications though (which would make it a 4 or 4.5 star dish). I added an extra roma tomato. I sauted my garlic, onion, and green pepper in the 2 Tbsp of oil for a milder flavor (I dont care much for raw onion). We added sliced black olives and crumbled feta cheese too...so good! We swapped out the parlsey for cilantro, which I think is tastier and was cheaper anyway at the store. If I had thought about it, I would have purchased artichoke hearts or hearts of palm to add, too. We ate it over romaine lettuce for our main dish and it totally hit the spot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I used green onions out of my garden, also added fresh mint, and instead of vinegar I used 4 small key limes. Only had a yellow pepper. I like garlic so added more. Turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States