Mediterranean Chickpea Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Delish!! The only alteration I made was to use fresh basil instead of cilantro. I used reduced fat feta to make it even healthier. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This recipe was awesome. I used fresh lemon and skipped the cilantro. Very fresh tasting. My friend loved it and asked for seconds and the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This is a great recipe. Very garlicky and very lemony. I actually added about 1/4 packet of stevia to cut the tartness slightly. I don't like raw onion, so I used red pepper instead, and the flavors went well together. I only marinated it for about 45 minutes, and it came out just fine (but even better the next day). The only thing I'd change is I'd use more cilantro. I think this would be good with black olives and fresh tomatoes in addition to the sundried. Oh, and it was very easy to prepare--bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Used regular tomatoes instead of sundried. This was great. Very tasty and low in fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This recipe is very easy to put together and gets rave reviews on a consistant basis. Due to diatary reasons I can not eat the feta cheese so I make it with out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
good recipe, i didnt use that much onion cos well i dont like onions that much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Excellent. We added some chopped up dried cranberries to it the next day and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Fantastic, loved it, could eat the whole lot in one go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Love this! It has a LOT of punch even with our dial-down substitutions: much less onion, half the garlic and feta, or double everything else. (It's that good!) We also bring the canned beans to a boil as my daughter spent time in Spain and grew to like the softer beans served there. Boiling the beans makes removing the husk easier, if you're going for presentation, too. Have made several times. Ideas from other raters that worked well were adding olives, using roma tomatoes instead of sundried, and I always add more beans. (I usually boil two cans because I snack on them when I remove the husks, and some are smooshed or break in half.) Can't go wrong with a feta/onion/garlic/cilantro combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I make a wonderful version of this salad. To me, it's not Mediterranean without olives. So, I add a large handful of chopped and pitted calamata olives, celery for awesome crunch, roma tomatoes, like some of the other ladies suggested and I use a balsamic vinagrette along with a drizzle of olive oil for a fresh finish. I also add chopped fresh parsley. It keeps well for weeks and seems to get better as it marinates. I use organic, canned garbonzoes because I find the flavor and texture far and above surpasses the non-organic variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States