Mediterranean Chickpea Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This is a great recipe. Very garlicky and very lemony. I actually added about 1/4 packet of stevia to cut the tartness slightly. I don't like raw onion, so I used red pepper instead, and the flavors went well together. I only marinated it for about 45 minutes, and it came out just fine (but even better the next day). The only thing I'd change is I'd use more cilantro. I think this would be good with black olives and fresh tomatoes in addition to the sundried. Oh, and it was very easy to prepare--bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Love this! It has a LOT of punch even with our dial-down substitutions: much less onion, half the garlic and feta, or double everything else. (It's that good!) We also bring the canned beans to a boil as my daughter spent time in Spain and grew to like the softer beans served there. Boiling the beans makes removing the husk easier, if you're going for presentation, too. Have made several times. Ideas from other raters that worked well were adding olives, using roma tomatoes instead of sundried, and I always add more beans. (I usually boil two cans because I snack on them when I remove the husks, and some are smooshed or break in half.) Can't go wrong with a feta/onion/garlic/cilantro combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Delish!! The only alteration I made was to use fresh basil instead of cilantro. I used reduced fat feta to make it even healthier. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I make a wonderful version of this salad. To me, it's not Mediterranean without olives. So, I add a large handful of chopped and pitted calamata olives, celery for awesome crunch, roma tomatoes, like some of the other ladies suggested and I use a balsamic vinagrette along with a drizzle of olive oil for a fresh finish. I also add chopped fresh parsley. It keeps well for weeks and seems to get better as it marinates. I use organic, canned garbonzoes because I find the flavor and texture far and above surpasses the non-organic variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Great recipe! I followed the previous rater's suggestions of adding fresh tomatoes (roma) and olives. It added quite a bit of flavor. I also used gorgonzola cheese instead of feta and added a little fresh pesto sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSUGABRIELLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Fantastic, loved it, could eat the whole lot in one go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
We doubled this recipe and figured it needed something extra so we added about 1/3 C balsamic vinegar. We did however use one less onion and split the sun dried tomatoes with fresh grape tomatoes. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This recipe is very easy to put together and gets rave reviews on a consistant basis. Due to diatary reasons I can not eat the feta cheese so I make it with out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This needed too much doctoring to suit our taste. Added fresh tomatoes and fresh mint and extra cilantro and some greek seasoning and some cumin and some lemon zest. Too bland for our taste. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Yummy and quick due to the canned chick peas. Thanks for posting it Lucie! Make it 8-12 hrs ahead for the most intense flavor. We always add 1/4 cup olives, and double the amount of chickpeas. Also, substitute fresh tomatoes and a few sprigs of whichever fresh herbs are growing in the garden: parsley, basil and cilantro. Its a good idea to salt and rinse the onions to take out the stink if you don't like that smell--or to use green onions. Some fresh-grated black pepper rounds out the taste nicely. Next time I'll try the cukes...sounds tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States