Mediterranean Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
If I could I'd probably give the original recipe 3.5 stars, but I was able to come up with some changes the next day that made it 5 stars to me! I was really in the mood for some Mediterranean food and tried this recipe, and while it wasn't bad, it was really rather bland. Even my husband who will normally eat a ton at dinner even if he doesn't love something, only ate the bare minimum. The result was having a ton of left-over the next day that nobody wanted. So, I chopped the chicken up into smaller bites and stuffed the leftovers into blanched bell pepper halves. Sprinkled the tops heavily with McCormicks Greek Seasoning and a LOT more kalmatas and then poured a can of tomato sauce over the top of them and sprinkled with a little Italian Cheese blend. Baked in the over at 350 for about 25 minutes. It made a wonderful stuffed pepper and had a lot more of the Mediterranean flavor I was wanting. I now use this recipe as the base and go right to the stuffed peppers. I do think you could probably just add the Greek Seasoning, more kalmata's and a bit more tomato sauce and you'd improve the flavor without the peppers if you wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Harmony57
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Stayed with the original recipe however at the table used some cayenne to spice it up. I like a little heat sometimes. Second time to make really good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I read many of the reviews and did add more liquid. Also added sliced zucchinis, chopped artichokes, Middle Eastern green olives, slices of lemon, sliced yellow and orange peppers. It is delicious and should be the crowd pleaser. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This was just ok for me. I think I was expecting more from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
My husband and I loved this dish. I cooked it as is except that I cooked the chicken on medium-low once I returned it to the pan, and I let the olives and parsley cook a little longer too. I would probably add 2 chicken breast halves for a total of 8 next time - we seemed to need more with the amount of sauce we had. I served this with quinoa that I cooked in chicken broth. It worked perfectly since the sauce is runnier. The quinoa really picked up the juices. Super delicious - will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Everyone loved it - 3 year old boy, 10 year old boy, 39 year old man! I used some thyme and basil but then used Clubhouse Greek seasoning for the rest of the seasoning. Also threw in some of the olive juice, and used a can of drained, diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I made this exactly as listed and next time might cut the thyme by half. Just a personal thing. I did add some crushed red pepper to taste after being served to add a little heat. I will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I prepared this for my husband and we both loved it. I used canned tomatoes instead of fresh. Next time I think I'll add a little more garlic. I served it over brown rice. My husband ate leftovers the next day and he thought it was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
This recipe is a good start; needs tweaking. Doubled the sauce and served with rice. A bit runny, but not bad. Used dried herbs, so kept those quantities as per the recipe. The dried thyme was too strong, cut back next time. Also added 1/2 t. of red pepper flakes; it was subtle. The recipe was a bit acidic with the tomatoes and wine. A bit of brown sugar might help. Also, a bit of chicken bouillon might help too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Loved it and my guests raved about it! I would recommend having all food items chopped and prepped efore starting thid as it has time sensitive preparation, i.e. when to add the tomatoes or how long to saute the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States