Mediterranean Chicken with Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I cut this down to 3 servings since I live alone - it divided very well, though it might be just me but I think that amount would only serve 2. I did change one thing because I have yet to discover tomato paste for sale in Japan. I ended up using a can of crushed tomatoes, reduced in a saucepan for 1 hour, and omitting the water. Despite my being worried about the eggplant sitting in water for 30 minutes, I followed the recipe but it didn't turn out mushy at all - in fact it was quite the perfect texture. Also, (regarding an earlier review) I didn't measure out the amount of oil I used, instead just brushing a thin-ish layer on both sides of the eggplant strips - just enough to cover it so it doesn't burn when sauteéd. Suggestions for next time would be to add grated/minced garlic when adding the tomatoes, and black olive halves over the top just before baking. Overall, I was very impressed, and this recipe comes highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guilford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Takamatsu, Kagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
I love mediterranean food and this was great (but only got 4 stars as I altered it a bit) I used japanese eggplants - as they were on sale, and diced them up and then added to a casserole dish (the japanese ones do not need salting). I then diced up the chicken the same size. While the chicken and onion were cooking I crumbled 300g feta (12 onces if you are in the US) over the eggplants. I added the tomato paste, oregeno, red wine (about 1/4 a cup), the water and 1/4 cup of olives to the chicken mix. This turned out great, a bit liquidy as the eggplants do release a lot of moisture - so next time I will take away 1/4 a cup of water and use the red wine in its place. Serve with a crispy greek salad with plenty of tomatoes and cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Maybe yours will be better than mine. When I was sauteing the eggplant, it began to resemble earthworms. I used chicken tenders instead of breasts, and they were kinda dry and bland. I sliced the onions instead of dicing them, and they were the best part. I served this with couscous, steamed vegetables, salad, and rolls. The eggplant was easier to eat, when I cut it up and mixed it with my coucous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sherman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Made this last night for dinner. My husband declared it "EXCELLENT". I did cut the chicken into large pieces then marinated in lemon juice,zest,balsamic vinegar and olive oil and grilled it half cooked before baking.Also took advice of others and layered ricotta under chicken. Delish! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doggymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Monterey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Just the best. Who would have thought something with such few ingredients would taste so wonderful? I made a few minor changes: Used 1T of olive oil when baking the eggplant, added some minced garlic to the sauce as well as used some salt that had a bit of cayenne in it. I also sprinkled it with a little feta before serving. I used my regular method of preparing eggplant by salting in the colander instead of the soaking method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Holy Smokes!!! This was so good and so easy I can hardly believe it!! I did change the way I sweat the eggplants though. I salt them and place them in a colander for 30 minutes with a heavy bowl on top of the eggplant. Then I rinsed off all the extra salt. I think letting them sit in water would make them too mushy. Other than that...loved this recipe and will make it again. I served this with rice (for my husband) and he loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
I added crumbled feta cheese in between the layers of eggplant. I can't imagine the recipe without it, it was so good! I soaked the eggplant as suggested and it turned out soft, but not too mushy. Served with couscous, it was spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homosassa, Florida, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
This was delicious. I served it with pita bread, and we ate the eggplant/chicken over the toasted pita. I did make changes, which I think made a huge difference. For each serving made, I added a clove of minced garlic when I cooked the onions and chicken (I only made two servings, so I added two cloves of garlic). I also dotted the eggplant with small spoonfuls of ricotta cheese in between the eggplant and chicken, which added a nice creamy layer. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by killerbroccoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corte Madera, California, USA
Living In: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YUJUAN29
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Very good. I added some celery and white wine to the recipe however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YUJUAN29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dededo, Dededo, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
It was difficult for me to brown the eggplant using that little olive oil. I followed the directions exactly and found the chicken was overcooked. Although I used more spice than called for, I still found the dish bland. The eggplant was very mushy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States