Mediterranean Chicken with Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Excellent dish. I did not have tomato paste, so I added a can of diced tomatoes. AND, I added garlic. My husband who does not normally eat eggplant very much enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was exellent. I never made anything like this before so I didn't know what to expect but we will definately have this again. Both my husband and my grown son really liked it. We didn't vary from the recipe. We got a large eggplant and just used the one but we'll want to use more next time. I also think we'll add garlic the next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
this was a 3.5 in my books. i used chicken broth instead of water for more flavour, and added some feta about 5 minutes before it was done - it was very flavourful. i aslo at it on its own, but my husband ate it with rice. either way it was good, and easy, and i would make it again, but the added flavour was necessary in my mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
the grown-ups at the table LOVED it! Not so the 9 and 6 year olds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saj Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westtown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Landstuhl, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I liked that this recipe was very simple so it leaves a lot of room to be creative. I went with the lemon and balsamic marinade for the chicken others suggested using white balsamic vinegar. I replaced the tomato paste and water with fresh roma tomatoes skinned, mashed and slow cooked into a sauce, added some garlic along with the chicken and onions, and put a layer of parmesean cheese over the eggplant before I added the sauce and chicken. I'll confess I really don't care for eggplant very often but my partner enjoys it and I enjoyed this dish a lot more myself than I would have expected. I did take a lot of liberties and ended up more with eggplant parmesean with chicken instead of the original theme, but it's a good base recipe you can really run with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Very good recipe. I am always looking for different ways to cook eggplant since I really like it, and I know it is good for you ;) I did do a couple things different. After slicing the eggplant I salted it and set it out on a paper towel and covered it with another paper towel (a trick my grandmother used). Anyway, I did not bake at all becuase it was getting late, so I fried eggplant first, removed from pan, and fried chicken with onion and garlic. I added mushrooms and followed the advice of another reviewer and added some wine! Then I added the tomatoe (petite diced) a pinch of fresh basil, salt and pepper (I was out of oregano!) I added the eggplant to that chicken mix and let simmer until some of the juices evaporated. Then I added grated cheese and covered! MMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BkDuran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was my first experience with eggplant! It was awesome! I made a few changes though. I grilled my whole chx breats along with the eggplant and some red peppers brushed with EVOO. I tossed 4 halved garlic cloves into the onion pan and sauteed those with the chx. I omitted the paste/water combo and just used a small can of tom sauce. I also added a layer of shredded mozz chz between veggies and chx. Then baked as stated. I will be making this again. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Wonderful meal! I did have to make some changes. I only had one small baby eggplant on hand, so I chopped it up (and soaked it as the original instructions said to) and added in two chopped carrots and one chopped rib of celery. Coated all in a small amount of olive oil and sauted until the carrots were soft. Spread them in the bottom of a lightly oiled 9x13 pan. Marinated whole chicken breast tenders in Balsamic Vinaigrette dressing. Cooked in skillet until mostly done, then arranged them on top of vegetables. I cooked the onion (used a mix of Spanish and green)in the same pan that I cooked the chicken in. Stirred in the tomato paste and water mixture and added dried oregano and a little bit of tumeric until just heated. Spooned over the chicken and baked, covered, for 15 minutes. Removed aluminum foil and sprinkled cheddar and mozzarella on top. Baked, uncovered, for 5 minutes. Served over rice. Husband and 4 year old son loved it (me too)! 7 year old daughter didn't, but she doesn't like anything new. Will definitely make again! Thanks for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
There is nothing more satisfying than the compliments I just received from my husband. He loved the eggplant, the way the chicken was cooked, and the flavor. Easy too! I used whole chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This was excellent. I didn't rate it a 5 because I had followed some of the instructions from others. I marinated my chicken in basalmic vinegar, lemon, and olive oil. Then grilled it for about 4 minutes on each side. I then cubed it up and finished the recipe as is. I did add a small layer of mozzarella between the eggplant and chicken. I was delicious. I served it with a greek salad. Yum! Yum! Will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States