Mediterranean Chicken with Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This was really great! My husband cleaned his plate and he's not particularly fond of eggplant. I pretty much followed the directions except I cut the eggplant into cubes, tossed it with some water and kosher salt then let it sit in a colander for about 20 minutes. Before sauteing I rinsed the salt off. I cooked the chicken with the onion and a clove of crushed garlic. I also sprinkled on some crumbled feta cheese after removing from the oven. I think the feta gave it a much better flavor than adding a layer of ricotta cheese like some reviews said. Ricotta is pretty bland in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I was given 2 eggplants, lots of green onions, a huge amount of grape tomatoes and had chicken breasts thawing in the fridge so I googled the ingredients and it brought me here to this recipe. I did switch it up some, I followed the advice on salting and draining the eggplant, cooked it, the chicken chunks, added the grape tomatoes, sliced baby bella mushrooms, white an green onions, added half a bag of frozen green/red/yellow bell pepper strips, one can of petite tomatoes and spices. I googled Mediterranean spices and was given a mixture of cinnamon, cumin, coriander (used dried cilantro), rosemary, oregano (Mexican was all I had) salt/pepper and added it all, to taste..turned out to be the best dish ever!! Over rice, it's fantastic! Definitely going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I used nearly the entire 6 oz can of tomato paste and about 3 generous tsp oregano. I layered, eggplant + ricotta cheese + chicken tomato layer. I used too much oil and a few pieces of the eggplant got saturated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Excellent. Chicken was very tender. Even better flavor the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
this dish was very good but i did switch some things up. i did not put water on the eggplant instead i rubbed salt on them and let them sweat. i added more tamato paste and more water. and also i added a layer of ricotta in between the eggplant and the chicken/tamatoe layer! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
My family loves eggplant AND chicken, but we did not like this as it was. Needed goat cheese, ricotta, something. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I liked this recipe. Me and my 9 year old daughter gave it a thumbs up. My very picky husband doesn't eat eggplant and I thought this would turn him around, but it didn't. But he did eat two helpings of the chicken. I also took the advice and salted the eggplant and put in a colander to sweat it out. I marinated the diced chicken in balsamic, EVOO and lemon juice. I cut the eggplant a little thicker so it wouldn't be mush. I didn't have tomato paste, so I used a Bulgarian red pepper spread called Ajvar. It's red and chunky and actually has some eggplant in it. And don't be grossed out ... I squirted a little ketchup over it too to give it a tomatoey flavor. It really was good and I will have it for lunch tomorrow! Served it with rice, a green salad and biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaz
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This turned out pretty well. I followed others tips of marinating the chicken but added too much balsamic vinegar. My 7 and 11 year olds loved it, so I'm sure I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was excellent.The only thing I added was to sprinkle feta on top at the time it went into the oven.. It is not necessary to add feta "5 minutes before it's done" because feta doesn't melt. I wish people would read recipes more closely or that the editors would correct reviews such as the first one that cautions you against "boiling" the eggplant. The recipe doesn't say to boil it! I also don't understand the "bland" comments when there is 2 tsp. oregano, salt, pepper and an onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I changed this with spices and balsamic vinegar and red wine.. since I cook for just myself, I only did 1 eggplant and 2 chicken breasts and still had plenty to freeze for other meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANGEL1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States