Mediterranean Chicken with Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Not sure if Mediterranean flavors work for my family. I will try a different dish and see if it is received more warmly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
We had an Italian restaurant in the 80's...we NEVER boiled our eggplant. We sliced them about a 1/2 inch thick then salted them to make them "weep" and then processed them accordingly. If you boil the eggplant, you are removing way too much of the nutrients and it makes it super mushy. I also add freshly grated parmesean or romano cheese ~~~ you only need a little and it perks up the flavor of the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This was fantastic! Marinated the chick. in olive oil, lemon, med. seasoning & garlic. I used Basil, oregano and garlic tomato paste and used about 1/2 the can. Cooked the chicken in garlic and onion. Sprinkled the eggplant with feta, then the chicken when removing from oven. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This was a decent healthy recipe. I ended up stir-frying the eggplant slices because they just wouldn't get fully cooked in the oven. I used 1 tsp. oregano and thought that was plenty for us. I would make this again as healthy but tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
this was very good! I used tomato sauce rather than paste. It was a little runny but still good. I served it on wild rice. excellent. Next time I'm going to serve it with couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This was surprisingly good for so few ingredients but definitely marinate your chicken beforehand I didnt and it was bland, but the sauce helped. I added 2 grated garlic cloves, chicken broth instead of water, increased the tomato paste to make more sauce. and layered with skim ricotta which melted and was awesome. I also used fresh oregano. I too sweated the eggplant, rinsed and pan grilled using a cooking spray in non stick pan. My husband did not complain and even ate his eggplant which he usually leaves on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sangre Grande, Sangre Grande, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Hempstead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This was good. Eggplant was a little mushy but I'll chalk it up to my first time ever cooking with eggplant. The only thing I did differently was I only used 4 chicken breasts (that's what I had.) And before baking I sprinkled the top with panko and parmasean. Then for the last few min I put it on broil without the cover. It was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This was an easy delicious dish that my husband picked out and made. We did substitute red wine for the water as someone suggested. Also I had some thick leftover tomato sauce that we used instead of the paste. This is definitely a keeper. Yummy, yummy, yummy plates were clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by valfaulkner79
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
The husband and I thought this dish turned out delicious! The only thing we added was a good amount of mozzerella sprinkled on top after it was finished baking. Very good and lots of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valfaulkner79

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This recipe was fantastic. I made a few modifications based on what was in my cabinet, but I am thinking the effect was very similar. Instead of tomato paste and water, I used a cup of spaghetti sauce for 1/3rd of the recipe (2 chicken breasts and one eggplant). After placing the eggplant in the pan, I covered it with a layer of fresh tomatoe slices. I topped this with the chicken, onion, sauce mixture and baked for the recommended time. Delicious and interesting! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States