Mediterranean Chicken with Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Very easy to make and tastes delicious. I didn't have onions, so I added lots of fresh garlic (squeezed)on top of eggplant before putting it in the oven with chicken. I will be making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
All in all this was a pretty tasty dish, however I found that placing the eggplant on the bottom and the chicken on top it dried out the chicken and left the eggplant super mushy. I made this a second time, but this time I placed the chicken on the bottom (and reserved some of the cooked tomato juice) and placed the eggplant on top, then topped everything off with the tomato juice. This left the chicken super moist and left some texture on the eggplant. I also topped with some feta cheese after cooking which added a little extra "umph". This paired well with the Wilted Spinach with Cherries and Goat Cheese recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla Lane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laxdad
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I tried this recipe but tweeked it with some of the suggestions that I read on other reviews. I followed the directions for the eggplant as stated in the recipe, I marinated boneless chicken thighs and cubed chicken breast in lemon juice, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and crushed garlic ( jarred garlic in oil) for about 90 mins in the fridge, I grilled the eggplant on a cast iron grill and layed it in a big aluminum baking pan. Diced a sweet onion and sautéed with sliced fresh garlic, and then added a 14oz can of diced tomatoes and seasoned with dried Italian seasoning and diced scallions and sliced black olives. I then grilled the chicken on the same cast iron grill and set aside. Then spooned tomato mixture onto eggplant , then added crumbled feta cheese , and put the chicken on top of that , covered with foil and baked for 30-45 minutes and OMG it was a HOME RUN ! I made orzo and spooned the chicken mixture over it ...... YUMMY !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Hyde Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I can't believe how easy this was to make! I took Elizabeth101's tip and diced the eggplant and added feta cheese and it came out great. Serviced it with whole wheat past. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I'm thrilled. I didn't expect to like this as much as I did. No changes in the ingredients, so I am reviewing this recipe. In terms of process, I prefer to salt and sweat the eggplant. I always make the recipe as close to posted as possible and that is the one I review. Afterwards, I adapt it or change it for my taste. In this case, all I can say is thank you for posting a recipe that does not need to be tweaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mendocino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by keh906
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This recipe was delicious! I took the advice of some of the reviewers and sweated the eggplant for roughly a half hour instead of submerging in water. I added two cloves of garlic to the chicken/onion mixture for added flavor and also added dollops of ricotta cheese to the tops of the eggplant medallions before adding the chicken mixture. The dish turned out much sweeter than I expected for a "Mediterranean" dish - this is not a negative criticism, just trying to establish accurate expectations. I paired it with a crisp summer salad (romaine, shredded carrots, strawberries, toasted walnuts, blue cheese, cherry tomatoes). In the future, I will go the route of bolder Mediterranean flavors both in seasoning the chicken and in the side salad (cucumber, tomato, mint, feta, kalamita olives, etc). A good recipe lends itself to varying tastes/regional influences; THIS is that recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Pretty darn good. I added a bit of spice and I honestly fear that if I didnt add the cayenne and chili pepper it wouldnt be as nice. I added alot more oregano as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberkirky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This recipe came out better then I expected. I followed the recipe almost to the letter, I added garlic to my chicken and onions, I read another review where someone added Black Olives I think I will do the same the next time. I could also see this recipe substituting fish for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYcentral57

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Very very good -- with a few other reviewers' suggestions incorporated. I marinated the chicken cubes in a mix of red wine vinegar / EVOO / salt and pepper, to very good effect (juicy and tender, even though had been frozen). Suggest sautéing chicken separately from onions and garlic - it will brown better, giving much more flavor. Needs garlic; suggest making more sauce (tomato paste and liquid) using red wine for half the liquid. I cubed the eggplant, and instead of grilling it tossed with EVoO and stuck it under the broiler for a few minutes, stirring once. Used lots of herbs. Topped with mozz and parm for last ten minutes in the oven. Served with cumin roast potatoes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I did as others had suggested. Sweated the eggplant out of water and marinated the chicken (lemon zest of one lemon, lemon juice, EVOO, balsamic vinegar). On top of the eggplant I added thin slices of feta. I also added a bunch of garlic when I cooked the chicken and onion. I used chicken broth instead of water and tomato sauce (because I had a little left over in frig). I added a pint of cherry tomatoes halved when I added the broth/sauce. It was awesome! Served next to rice and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States