Mediterranean Chicken with Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
My 20 year old son loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Very good. I did not have tomato paste so I used about a cup or so of jarred marinara and eliminated the water. I also added a handful of sliced marinated green olives - worked very well. I love eggplant - delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Really tasty recipe! I reduced the size down to 1 eggplant and 2 chicken breasts for just 2 of us. I used a full onion, added a garlic clove, 1/4 C. of Feta cheese & a small can of whole black olives, and had to use a cooked down tomato in place of tomato paste. I did not bother peeling the eggplant- I liked the dark skin color on the edges and have no problem with the flavor or texture. I also sweated the eggplant in a colander in the sink rather than using the salt water bath. The flavor was really good- unique without being weird. The sauteed eggplant really had a rich flavor- it made the dish. (Well, that and the cheese!) It was a great way to eat our veggies and add a new flavor to the regular chicken rotation. Served with spiced couscous and green beans- yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Downeast Erika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was just ok. I didn't have a problem with the preparation of the dish and I did just soak the eggplant in salted water. I think I may just not be a big fan of eggplant but it was rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
My husband and I loved this. Although we are not on a low-carb diet, we try to limit our intake of it, and this was perfect. I didn't have oregano, so I used curry, which gave it a little more mediterranean taste. I also added Mediteranean crumbles (kraft?) I will definitely make this again...even w/o the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKELFISH27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
We love the eggplant sauce, but didn't care for the chicken -- it came out very dry. We now use this recipe sans chicken as a great sauce for grilled meats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Loved this recipe! I took others suggestions and added feta cheese, cheyenne pepper and olives. Will certainly be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is a very tasty light dish. My family loved it. I tweeked it a little, instead of cutting the chicken into pieces, I pounded the boneless breasts a little, and left them hole, I grilled the eggplant until lightly brown with the evoo, and put it in the pan, and placed the chicken on top after grilling it with evoo and added a can of diced tomato,onion and basil and baked at 300 degrees for about 45 minutes, and YUM!!! Even my husband doesn't care for eggplant ate it, this is a keeper. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frackville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Lawn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Pretty good. I too added feta cheese, olives and garlic but next time I would cut the eggplant into cubes. I found it was a little too much in the strips. All in all a nice mediterranean dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
My husband and I both loved this. I have made it a few times since on the heart healthy diet. Last time I served with whole wheat tortillas and some grated parmasean cheese. Delicious! With leftovers made sandwiches for lunch the next day. Will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States