Mediterranean Chicken with Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Delicious - I like that it uses so few ingredients! My version had a few modifications. I marinated diced chicken thighs in a splash of lemon juice and balsamic vinegar. Salted the eggplant slices for 30 minutes then sauteed. Added 1 diced roma tomato with chicken/onion. I used half red wine for the water and whisked the tomato paste into that before adding to the pan. After pouring the simmered mixture over the eggplant I deglazed the pan with chicken broth and poured that on top. It is a good dish, next time I would dice the eggplant instead - the slices were too large for our liking. Served with egg noodles but rice might be easier to manage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Tastes fresh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
The flavour is very nice, but a little bland for us. Also to save on dishes I cooked the entire dish in a large frying pan. I sweated the eggplant first (no need to peel, the peel adds a lovely texture), then fried for a few min. and removed. I diced the chicken, added diced onions, garlic and red pepper and sauted. Add the tom. sauce and eggplant then simmer for about 10 min. No need to use the oven really. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This was a wonderful dish. The flavors and texture are absolutely delicious. Hubby loved it. The only thing I did differently was add Parmesan cheese on the top the last 5 minutes of baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Pretty good, however, it seemed lacking in something. Next time, I will use only one eggplant. I had too many left over for the amount of chicken I had. As for the leftovers, I ground them up in a blender and added them with spaghetti sauce for a spaghetti dinner. That turned out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This was pretty good. I did substitute freshly diced tomatoes for the tomato paste and added garlic and green peppers to the chicken sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
GREAT! I added spinach and fresh mushrooms to the chicken mixture. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This recipe is really good. My husband asks for it often which is no problem b/c it's easy to make. I used diced tomatoes instead of sauce and added shredded Parmesan cheese at the end of baking and serve w/ rice and bread it's so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N.NERO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
We really enjoyed it, especially my husband. I added crushed red pepper for a little zip! We ate it with organic, long grain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
We loved the very flavorful chicken and tomato part of this recipe so much. The eggplant was good, soft and tasty but overwhelming. The next time, I think I'll slice them smaller and maybe use only one or two eggplants instead of three. The taste was great. Very good dish and worthy of a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Cotter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States