Mediterranean Chicken with Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was my first experience with eggplant! It was awesome! I made a few changes though. I grilled my whole chx breats along with the eggplant and some red peppers brushed with EVOO. I tossed 4 halved garlic cloves into the onion pan and sauteed those with the chx. I omitted the paste/water combo and just used a small can of tom sauce. I also added a layer of shredded mozz chz between veggies and chx. Then baked as stated. I will be making this again. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Wonderful meal! I did have to make some changes. I only had one small baby eggplant on hand, so I chopped it up (and soaked it as the original instructions said to) and added in two chopped carrots and one chopped rib of celery. Coated all in a small amount of olive oil and sauted until the carrots were soft. Spread them in the bottom of a lightly oiled 9x13 pan. Marinated whole chicken breast tenders in Balsamic Vinaigrette dressing. Cooked in skillet until mostly done, then arranged them on top of vegetables. I cooked the onion (used a mix of Spanish and green)in the same pan that I cooked the chicken in. Stirred in the tomato paste and water mixture and added dried oregano and a little bit of tumeric until just heated. Spooned over the chicken and baked, covered, for 15 minutes. Removed aluminum foil and sprinkled cheddar and mozzarella on top. Baked, uncovered, for 5 minutes. Served over rice. Husband and 4 year old son loved it (me too)! 7 year old daughter didn't, but she doesn't like anything new. Will definitely make again! Thanks for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
There is nothing more satisfying than the compliments I just received from my husband. He loved the eggplant, the way the chicken was cooked, and the flavor. Easy too! I used whole chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This was excellent. I didn't rate it a 5 because I had followed some of the instructions from others. I marinated my chicken in basalmic vinegar, lemon, and olive oil. Then grilled it for about 4 minutes on each side. I then cubed it up and finished the recipe as is. I did add a small layer of mozzarella between the eggplant and chicken. I was delicious. I served it with a greek salad. Yum! Yum! Will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Eggplant was good, chicken was cooked perfectly, the tomato with oregano was BLAND. This recipe needs some desperate help. I wish I had not wasted the chicken and eggplant on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Very tasty. I enhanced the flavor with 3 large garlic cloves, dried whole leaf oregano (better flavor) and balsamic vinegar marinade for the chicken-per recommendations. I served with sticky white rice, and get this, melted monterey jack cheese on top of chicken/vegetables. Perfect! Overall good recipe made better with addt'l ingredients to enhance flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Delicious - I like that it uses so few ingredients! My version had a few modifications. I marinated diced chicken thighs in a splash of lemon juice and balsamic vinegar. Salted the eggplant slices for 30 minutes then sauteed. Added 1 diced roma tomato with chicken/onion. I used half red wine for the water and whisked the tomato paste into that before adding to the pan. After pouring the simmered mixture over the eggplant I deglazed the pan with chicken broth and poured that on top. It is a good dish, next time I would dice the eggplant instead - the slices were too large for our liking. Served with egg noodles but rice might be easier to manage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Tastes fresh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
The flavour is very nice, but a little bland for us. Also to save on dishes I cooked the entire dish in a large frying pan. I sweated the eggplant first (no need to peel, the peel adds a lovely texture), then fried for a few min. and removed. I diced the chicken, added diced onions, garlic and red pepper and sauted. Add the tom. sauce and eggplant then simmer for about 10 min. No need to use the oven really. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This was a wonderful dish. The flavors and texture are absolutely delicious. Hubby loved it. The only thing I did differently was add Parmesan cheese on the top the last 5 minutes of baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States