Mediterranean Chicken with Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Absolutely amazing!!! As others recommended, I marinated my chicken in balsamic vinegar with some oil and dried spices. An hour or so was plenty enough. Prior to cooking the chicken, I fried my onions with fresh garlic. I really enjoy chicken cooked in any kind of sauce, so I almost trippled the amount of water I used with tomato paste (actually, instead of water, I used chicken broth). And before pouring the simmering mixture over the eggplants, I added some Ricotta cheese and black olives. Once cooked, I served it over rice and everyone at my work and in my family enjoyed it to the end!! Thank you so much for such easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucille
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
After reading the reviews I decided to try a few things. For one, I thinly sliced the eggplant into rounds instead of cutting lengthwise. This worked out well because once it was ready to be served I could scoop out the portions neatly. I also decided to marinate the chicken overnight. Used balsamic vinegar, oregano, onion, salt, pepper, lemon. I read some reviews that said the recipe was bland so I made sure to marinade. I sweated the eggplant and rinsed the rounds well once it was ready. I think that when you sautee them you should make sure to add plenty of seasoning because this eggplant has a nice meaty texture but doesnt penetrate flavor as well. Dont be afraid to season them up. Thats the one thing I would do differnt next time when cooking the eggplant. Overall it came out pretty tasty. My 10 year old ate it up. Typical kid who is a bit weary of vegetables too. When you bake it together make sure to seal with aluminum *very* well to lock in the moisture and dont overbake. Oh and lastly, this is an important one. I used the whole can of tomato paste. Those cans are small and this recipe says to use 2tbs. Im wondering if they meant to say 2 oz because all those cans are 2 oz and 2 tbs was definitely was not enough. The whole can is much better to use. I used 4 chicken breasts and it gave it a good enough amount of flavor. Lastly because I cooked 4 chicken breasts, an 8 x 12 fit the recipe perfectly -used 2 eggplants instead of 3 to even it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Excellent dish. I did not have tomato paste, so I added a can of diced tomatoes. AND, I added garlic. My husband who does not normally eat eggplant very much enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was exellent. I never made anything like this before so I didn't know what to expect but we will definately have this again. Both my husband and my grown son really liked it. We didn't vary from the recipe. We got a large eggplant and just used the one but we'll want to use more next time. I also think we'll add garlic the next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
this was a 3.5 in my books. i used chicken broth instead of water for more flavour, and added some feta about 5 minutes before it was done - it was very flavourful. i aslo at it on its own, but my husband ate it with rice. either way it was good, and easy, and i would make it again, but the added flavour was necessary in my mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
the grown-ups at the table LOVED it! Not so the 9 and 6 year olds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saj Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westtown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Landstuhl, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I liked that this recipe was very simple so it leaves a lot of room to be creative. I went with the lemon and balsamic marinade for the chicken others suggested using white balsamic vinegar. I replaced the tomato paste and water with fresh roma tomatoes skinned, mashed and slow cooked into a sauce, added some garlic along with the chicken and onions, and put a layer of parmesean cheese over the eggplant before I added the sauce and chicken. I'll confess I really don't care for eggplant very often but my partner enjoys it and I enjoyed this dish a lot more myself than I would have expected. I did take a lot of liberties and ended up more with eggplant parmesean with chicken instead of the original theme, but it's a good base recipe you can really run with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Very good recipe. I am always looking for different ways to cook eggplant since I really like it, and I know it is good for you ;) I did do a couple things different. After slicing the eggplant I salted it and set it out on a paper towel and covered it with another paper towel (a trick my grandmother used). Anyway, I did not bake at all becuase it was getting late, so I fried eggplant first, removed from pan, and fried chicken with onion and garlic. I added mushrooms and followed the advice of another reviewer and added some wine! Then I added the tomatoe (petite diced) a pinch of fresh basil, salt and pepper (I was out of oregano!) I added the eggplant to that chicken mix and let simmer until some of the juices evaporated. Then I added grated cheese and covered! MMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BkDuran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was my first experience with eggplant! It was awesome! I made a few changes though. I grilled my whole chx breats along with the eggplant and some red peppers brushed with EVOO. I tossed 4 halved garlic cloves into the onion pan and sauteed those with the chx. I omitted the paste/water combo and just used a small can of tom sauce. I also added a layer of shredded mozz chz between veggies and chx. Then baked as stated. I will be making this again. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Wonderful meal! I did have to make some changes. I only had one small baby eggplant on hand, so I chopped it up (and soaked it as the original instructions said to) and added in two chopped carrots and one chopped rib of celery. Coated all in a small amount of olive oil and sauted until the carrots were soft. Spread them in the bottom of a lightly oiled 9x13 pan. Marinated whole chicken breast tenders in Balsamic Vinaigrette dressing. Cooked in skillet until mostly done, then arranged them on top of vegetables. I cooked the onion (used a mix of Spanish and green)in the same pan that I cooked the chicken in. Stirred in the tomato paste and water mixture and added dried oregano and a little bit of tumeric until just heated. Spooned over the chicken and baked, covered, for 15 minutes. Removed aluminum foil and sprinkled cheddar and mozzarella on top. Baked, uncovered, for 5 minutes. Served over rice. Husband and 4 year old son loved it (me too)! 7 year old daughter didn't, but she doesn't like anything new. Will definitely make again! Thanks for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States