Mediterranean Chicken with Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
My family loves eggplant AND chicken, but we did not like this as it was. Needed goat cheese, ricotta, something. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I liked this recipe. Me and my 9 year old daughter gave it a thumbs up. My very picky husband doesn't eat eggplant and I thought this would turn him around, but it didn't. But he did eat two helpings of the chicken. I also took the advice and salted the eggplant and put in a colander to sweat it out. I marinated the diced chicken in balsamic, EVOO and lemon juice. I cut the eggplant a little thicker so it wouldn't be mush. I didn't have tomato paste, so I used a Bulgarian red pepper spread called Ajvar. It's red and chunky and actually has some eggplant in it. And don't be grossed out ... I squirted a little ketchup over it too to give it a tomatoey flavor. It really was good and I will have it for lunch tomorrow! Served it with rice, a green salad and biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaz
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This turned out pretty well. I followed others tips of marinating the chicken but added too much balsamic vinegar. My 7 and 11 year olds loved it, so I'm sure I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was excellent.The only thing I added was to sprinkle feta on top at the time it went into the oven.. It is not necessary to add feta "5 minutes before it's done" because feta doesn't melt. I wish people would read recipes more closely or that the editors would correct reviews such as the first one that cautions you against "boiling" the eggplant. The recipe doesn't say to boil it! I also don't understand the "bland" comments when there is 2 tsp. oregano, salt, pepper and an onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I changed this with spices and balsamic vinegar and red wine.. since I cook for just myself, I only did 1 eggplant and 2 chicken breasts and still had plenty to freeze for other meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANGEL1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Absolutely amazing!!! As others recommended, I marinated my chicken in balsamic vinegar with some oil and dried spices. An hour or so was plenty enough. Prior to cooking the chicken, I fried my onions with fresh garlic. I really enjoy chicken cooked in any kind of sauce, so I almost trippled the amount of water I used with tomato paste (actually, instead of water, I used chicken broth). And before pouring the simmering mixture over the eggplants, I added some Ricotta cheese and black olives. Once cooked, I served it over rice and everyone at my work and in my family enjoyed it to the end!! Thank you so much for such easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucille
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
After reading the reviews I decided to try a few things. For one, I thinly sliced the eggplant into rounds instead of cutting lengthwise. This worked out well because once it was ready to be served I could scoop out the portions neatly. I also decided to marinate the chicken overnight. Used balsamic vinegar, oregano, onion, salt, pepper, lemon. I read some reviews that said the recipe was bland so I made sure to marinade. I sweated the eggplant and rinsed the rounds well once it was ready. I think that when you sautee them you should make sure to add plenty of seasoning because this eggplant has a nice meaty texture but doesnt penetrate flavor as well. Dont be afraid to season them up. Thats the one thing I would do differnt next time when cooking the eggplant. Overall it came out pretty tasty. My 10 year old ate it up. Typical kid who is a bit weary of vegetables too. When you bake it together make sure to seal with aluminum *very* well to lock in the moisture and dont overbake. Oh and lastly, this is an important one. I used the whole can of tomato paste. Those cans are small and this recipe says to use 2tbs. Im wondering if they meant to say 2 oz because all those cans are 2 oz and 2 tbs was definitely was not enough. The whole can is much better to use. I used 4 chicken breasts and it gave it a good enough amount of flavor. Lastly because I cooked 4 chicken breasts, an 8 x 12 fit the recipe perfectly -used 2 eggplants instead of 3 to even it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Excellent dish. I did not have tomato paste, so I added a can of diced tomatoes. AND, I added garlic. My husband who does not normally eat eggplant very much enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was exellent. I never made anything like this before so I didn't know what to expect but we will definately have this again. Both my husband and my grown son really liked it. We didn't vary from the recipe. We got a large eggplant and just used the one but we'll want to use more next time. I also think we'll add garlic the next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
this was a 3.5 in my books. i used chicken broth instead of water for more flavour, and added some feta about 5 minutes before it was done - it was very flavourful. i aslo at it on its own, but my husband ate it with rice. either way it was good, and easy, and i would make it again, but the added flavour was necessary in my mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States