Mediterranean Chicken with Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This recipe came out better then I expected. I followed the recipe almost to the letter, I added garlic to my chicken and onions, I read another review where someone added Black Olives I think I will do the same the next time. I could also see this recipe substituting fish for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYcentral57

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Very very good -- with a few other reviewers' suggestions incorporated. I marinated the chicken cubes in a mix of red wine vinegar / EVOO / salt and pepper, to very good effect (juicy and tender, even though had been frozen). Suggest sautéing chicken separately from onions and garlic - it will brown better, giving much more flavor. Needs garlic; suggest making more sauce (tomato paste and liquid) using red wine for half the liquid. I cubed the eggplant, and instead of grilling it tossed with EVoO and stuck it under the broiler for a few minutes, stirring once. Used lots of herbs. Topped with mozz and parm for last ten minutes in the oven. Served with cumin roast potatoes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I did as others had suggested. Sweated the eggplant out of water and marinated the chicken (lemon zest of one lemon, lemon juice, EVOO, balsamic vinegar). On top of the eggplant I added thin slices of feta. I also added a bunch of garlic when I cooked the chicken and onion. I used chicken broth instead of water and tomato sauce (because I had a little left over in frig). I added a pint of cherry tomatoes halved when I added the broth/sauce. It was awesome! Served next to rice and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Excellent start for a good old fashioned recipe from the Med. I disagree with others about sweating the eggplant. This is how my grandmother always did it (soaking in salt water Don't boil it!,)and I've tried every variation under the sun and this is simple and gets the same result. Just soak it. It doesn't get soggy or soft. Anyway, skip the ricotta(this isn't eggplant Parmesan) ,and mix some goat cheese into the tomato paste instead, use chicken stock instead of water, and throw some green and a bit of chicken stock in the bottom of the baking dish. Serve with rice w/ some lentils. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Not sure if Mediterranean flavors work for my family. I will try a different dish and see if it is received more warmly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
We had an Italian restaurant in the 80's...we NEVER boiled our eggplant. We sliced them about a 1/2 inch thick then salted them to make them "weep" and then processed them accordingly. If you boil the eggplant, you are removing way too much of the nutrients and it makes it super mushy. I also add freshly grated parmesean or romano cheese ~~~ you only need a little and it perks up the flavor of the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This was fantastic! Marinated the chick. in olive oil, lemon, med. seasoning & garlic. I used Basil, oregano and garlic tomato paste and used about 1/2 the can. Cooked the chicken in garlic and onion. Sprinkled the eggplant with feta, then the chicken when removing from oven. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This was a decent healthy recipe. I ended up stir-frying the eggplant slices because they just wouldn't get fully cooked in the oven. I used 1 tsp. oregano and thought that was plenty for us. I would make this again as healthy but tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
this was very good! I used tomato sauce rather than paste. It was a little runny but still good. I served it on wild rice. excellent. Next time I'm going to serve it with couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This was surprisingly good for so few ingredients but definitely marinate your chicken beforehand I didnt and it was bland, but the sauce helped. I added 2 grated garlic cloves, chicken broth instead of water, increased the tomato paste to make more sauce. and layered with skim ricotta which melted and was awesome. I also used fresh oregano. I too sweated the eggplant, rinsed and pan grilled using a cooking spray in non stick pan. My husband did not complain and even ate his eggplant which he usually leaves on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sangre Grande, Sangre Grande, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Hempstead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States