Mediterranean Chicken and Orzo Salad In Red Pepper Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Keni
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Made this for the Recipe Swap, flower girl, and it was great. :) I used kalamata olives and my own cherry tomatoes, quartered, cus that's what I had, and a grilled chicken breast left over from the night before.(had been basted while grilling with lime/butter), and I used fresh herbs. :) Made a gorgeous presentation in the peppers, too. Added my photo til you take one of your own! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keni
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This was a very delicious recipe! I made it exactly as written. I would suggest that for the amount of dressing, I would use a scant cup of orzo or even a little less because it did need a little more dressing. A little garlic in the dressing would have worked well, too. Serving it in the pepper was a nice idea but totally not necessary. Actually, I might even just dice up a quarter of the pepper and add it to the salad. It just depends on your presentation. I was thinking that adding a quarter cup of toasted pine nuts would have been perfect with this! You can see that this is a versatile idea that will become part of your cooking repertoire. Thanks for posting, geranium! UPDATE: I microwaved the little bit of the leftover pasta the next night, and it was delicious served warm, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This was great for a hot summer super. I used the breast meat from a store bought roasted chicken and kalamata olives. I added a half of a large cucumber seeded and chopped and 4 green onions sliced very thin. The flavors were great and the dressing was just the right amount--not too heavy but flavorful enough to know it was there. This will be a summer staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Very good salad, either hot or cold. I did make a few changes though; I think it would have been better with a little fresh parsley & I did not serve mine in red pepper cups. Remember to add more vinegar and evoo before eating leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Augustmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Delicious! Left out the chicken this time and added some diced red onion, hothouse cucumber and canned chick peas. Looking forward to leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Oh my, this was so delicious. I changed a couple of things for personal preference. I used cherry tomatoes instead of grape tomatoes. I left out the black olives, but put cucumbers in and doubled the amount of feta. Last change was only 1/2 tsp oregano. I didn't bother with the pepper cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
make a lot....maybe next time cut it in half....liked the dressing....cooked the chicken in onions and garlic then boiled the rice in the chicken stock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This was really, really good. I liked the dressing a lot. Didn't use red pepper cups, and added some fresh parsley from the garden. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Hi all, I just made this & it's in the fridge cooling. I didn't want the chicken, just wanted a nice side dish. I won't serve in the pepper cups though its a nice presentation for sure. I didnt have tomatoes so I used 1/2 can of diced with jalapenos instead but would be better with fresh I know. When I made the dressing I just added 3/4 tsp Italian seasoning instead of basil & oregano & a dash of lemon juice. My husband who didn't understand what a Orzo salad was just said mmmm, when I gave him a sample :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Very tasty! Did not make any changes, per se, but did leave out the olives and fresh sprigs for topping it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States