Mediterranean Brown Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Quite tasty. I soaked the rice in water for 45 mins and then cooked in a rice cooker. It came out fluffy and soft. Having read other reviews I, too, omitted the peas, cut back on the oil by half and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. However, unlike everyone who substituted raisins for craisins, I kept the raisins and thought their sweetness balanced out the tartness of the balsamic. I decided to sautee the onions, red peppers, and raisins to soften them up a bit and blend the flavors. My rice didn't turn a dark brown as described by another reviewer; maybe cause I tossed the rice with the sauteed veggies first, which coated the rice in some oil. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Delicious!Definitely a hit. I too, made a few adjustments. I don't think it needs that much oil I put a few tablespoons (3?). I really liked the suggestion from one of the reviewers which was to add finely chopped carrots and celery. It added a nice freshness and crunch. I don't care for raisins so I used dried cranberries and used red onion instead of white. Basically you can make many variations depending on your taste. (I don't care for peas and peppers.). I recommend adding the dressing and the raisins/dried cranberries to the rice while it's still hot, it absorbs the flavor a lot better and the raisins/cranberries plump up a little from the heat. I refrigerated the rice for a little while before I added the vegetables because I like them to stay crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Excellent with the following changes: --use 1/2 cup whole Kalamata olives instead of 1/4 c chopped --use 3/4 teaspoons dry mustard instead of Dijon --use olive oil instead of vegetable oil --increase feta cheese to 5 oz and mix with all ingredients --serve salad chilled. I'm thinking about adding pine nuts and trying craisins instead of raisins next time. This recipe is liked by our picky eater in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I made this like the helpful reviewer suggests with carrots and celery, white balsamic vinegar and olive oil since I didn't have green peas or red balsamic. Next time I'll try using 1 cup of rice and cut the oil and vinegar in half - a little oily for me. I would suggest cutting the olives in half, with that much rice it's difficult to get an olive for every serving. Delicious! J.I.M.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This came out great!! Made a large serving and the leftovers are better than the original as the sauces have time to soak in! Changed raisins to dried cranberries but given the flavors I could see the raisins working too! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I changed raisins to cranberries (dried) and added walnuts and cilantro. It was well received, but not rave reviews. Perhaps the wrong crowd - it was a potluck with college students. I think I'll try the recipe with quinoa instead of rice and it might be lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Amazing taste and texture. I made double the dressing and that was a mistake but it was still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I didn't like the balsamic vinegar and dijon mustard flavors together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Used olive oil, white balsamic, and soaked the raisins in warm water for five minutes or so to soften. Tried it on my husband then made it for a party. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I enjoyed this unique and different salad alot! I made some slight adjustments but otherwise stayed true to the recipe and enjoyed the combination of ingredients that made this savory and sweet salad. I used a rice blend instead of all brown and used 1/2 cup diced carrots and 1/2 cup of diced celery and omitted the peas. I also diced the red pepper and used 1/2 cup. I used white balsamic vinegar and loved the mild and pleasant sweet flavor combined with the tang of the Dijon mustard. The feta cheese was the crown jewel tying it all together. I liked it best after it was chilled. I will make this again without a doubt. (recipe made for *RECIPE GROUP*)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States