Mediterranean Breakfast Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This is absolutely delish!!! A definite keeper. My fam is accustomed to grains, so I cut the honey in 1/2 & it was plenty sweet for our tastes. What a healthy, delightful way to eat the most important meal of the day. I would give this 10 stars if I could. The nutty, but sweet flavor is great! Thanx, Yasi! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This is a great recipe. I made a few changes and loved it even more. Instead of vanilla I added Brown Sugar and some mixed nuts. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I am new to the gluten-free world (only a few days!), and thought I would try this to replace my beloved oatmeal. Well, score one for the team! I did not have dates or apricots, so I substituted golden raisins. I will say that I found the recipe too salty, so next time I make it I will reduce the salt to 1/2 tsp. Other than the salt, I found this to be delicious, with a comforting texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amoshatch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was SOOO delicious. I used sweetened coconut milk instead of cow milk and honey. Didn't have apricots so used dates and raisins. The results were fabulous! Nice to find a dish that doesn't need wheat, gluten or dairy to be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I'm not sure how to rate this. I had been looking for a sweet recipe with quinoa, not the usual salty side dishes. This tasted a lot like an oatmeal dish. It was good, but I think I prefer oatmeal to quinoa (at least in this instance). Apricots were too expensive so I used raisins and blueberries instead. The only thing I would change would be to add more cinnamon and honey (or sugar) because those flavors were a little too understated for me. Again, the lower rating comes more from the fact that I did not care for the texture of quinoa in a "breakfast cereal."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
The salt really overpowers this dish. The flavors would be perfect with half as much or no salt. I like the texture of the quinoa and I like the dates and apricots. I added cranberries as well, and I think dried cherries would be nice too. Be careful that the milk doesn't burn (I used soy) or boil over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I used half apple juice/half milk...worked out great! Next time I may put chopped apples in, a great autumn change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoonwaterBarb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middleport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I tried this yesterday and fell in love with it. It is easy, healthy and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This recipe really made me love quinoa! The cinnamon so good when you're making it. Really cheap, easy, lowfat, and healthy. I used almond milk instead of cow milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Mine boiled over really fast, even though I had it on low, so I had to continue cooking without covering completey. So..be careful it doesn't boil over!! Other than that, this was my first time cooking with quinoa. It came out very tasty qith a bit of a crunch. Kids loved it! Nice change from regular oatmeal. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Pork Fried Quinoa

Watch Chef John put a modern, healthy twist on pork-fried rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States